Research Checklist
- Check available bibliographies
Bibliographies are the best place to start a research project yet too often we forget about them!
Before using the library catalog and databases to search for books and articles, take a moment to consult the reading materials used in class, you will most likely find relevant bibliographies!
- Search FRANCIS
Start with a Keyword search. When you find a "good" book, look up the subject headings for this book, and then use them to do Subject searches.
Tip: In your email, create a folder for this class, then export (email) to yourself the references found. When you are ready to write your paper and need the complete bibliographic citations you will have the needed references at your fingertips.
- Consult bibliographies in the books found on FRANCIS
Most books available in the library include bibliographies referring to additional books and articles. Even if you find only one "good" book in FRANCIS, its bibliography will lead you to additional references.
- Find background materials and primary sources
The Reference collection is the best place to look for background information (biographies, chronologies, statistics, etc.) or locate primary sources (government documents e.g.).
Ask a librarian to guide you to the most relevant sources.
- Search for journal articles
To search for articles on a given subject, you need to use a periodical index. Periodical indexes provide references to specific topics covered in many titles of periodical
literature.
There are dozens of periodical indexes available in print and electronic form. To select the appropriate index for this research project, make sure to ask the librarian.
- Locate the journals in Sawyer or Schow
- When using an online index, click on the Find Text button. If we own an electronic copy, it should automatically display.
- If we don't own an electronic copy of the article, you will need to check FRANCIS to see if we have a paper version of the journal.
- Request materials not owned by the library
To obtain materials not available (checked out / we don't own) you can use
in FRANCIS and request the title right from one of our partner libraries. If it's not available through NExpress, use ILLiad, our Interlibrary loan system. For article citations that find, you can also use our citation linker.
- Search the World Wide Web
The WWW is not a good place to look for articles but it is the best place to find out information about associations (purpose, activities, members, etc.), activities of grassroots groups. When searching the WWW pay close attention to the author of the information available on the site.
- Cite your Sources
Proper citation of sources is important. A Citation Guide for Williams Students is available on the library webpage. Check with your professor to see which style is recommended for the class.