If you are interested in researching gender issues at Williams please consult with the staff of the Williams College Archives. Because not all of the Archives' material is yet included in FRANCIS, you will need to check both FRANCIS and the card catalog in the Archives' reading room to locate sources. In addition, detailed inventories, research guides and indexes are available for many of our archival and manuscript collections.
To schedule a research appointment or learn more about the Archives' collections, visit Archives' website.
Williams 1793-1993: a pictorial history
Archives 31 .W56 1993
Sawyer LD6074.5 .L49 1993)
Williams Alumni Review
Archives 62.W6
Sawyer LH1.W5 W54)
from 1909 to the present; separately indexed
Williams Record
Archives 533.R2
Sawyer LH1 .W5 W53)
from 1904 to the present; separately indexed
Student Handbook
Archives 22 W63s
from 1975 to the present
Reports of College administrators
Archives 230s
including the annual reports of the College Librarian, the Director of the Williams College Museum of Art, the Office of Career Counseling, etc.
Williams College President's Office records
from the 1790s to more current records
Williams College Dean's Office records
covering such issues as housing, the curriculum, advising, etc.
Williams College Committee on Coordinate Education (1965-1975)
regarding the College's first in-depth study of coeducation
Williams College Faculty Committee on Admissions records (1969-1973)
Williams College Bulletin
Archives 25.W6
from 1822 to the present; provides descriptions of the curriculum as well as overviews of College facilities, policies, etc.
Williams College Committee on Educational Policy records (1964- )
Program descriptions
Archives 26
publications, some beginning in the 1960s; includes Women's Studies
Syllabi
Archives 264.Sy (and more recently maintained as electronic files) from the 1970s to the present, although not all courses will be included as not all faculty have donated their syllabi
Writings of faculty -- (call #: 69, in closed stacks) we have not collected all publications of faculty, but do have an interesting array of material
Student essays and theses -- (call #: 54, most are in closed stacks) these include undergraduate theses (from 1938 to the present)
Student publications -- (call #: 532 - 533) these include address books, the Gul, student handbooks, literary magazines, humor magazines, etc.;
The Women's Feminist Alliance Newsletter (1974-1978)
The Cauldron (1987- )
Williams College Council Records (1971-1978) -- meeting minutes, memos, correspondence
Photographs and prints -- images of the town and campus, buildings, events and people; images are organized by individual, place, and group
Reunion publications -- (call #: 63) from the Class of 1825 to more current Classes; includes current news of graduates and sometimes reminiscences of student years
Alumni biographical files -- these files, originating in the Alumni/Development Office, contain clippings, articles, and other materials relating to deceased alumni
Lewis Wright's Compendium of notable alumni -- a listing of alumni recognized in college publications and national biographical dictionaries to the 1980s; organized by profession (authors, politicians, jurists, etc.)
Writings of alumni -- (call #: 68, in closed stacks) not all alumni have been documented in this collection
The Archives' collections also feature various artifacts (t-shirts, buttons, mugs, etc.), oral history tapes (including Nancy McIntyre), programs, pamphlets and posters.