Theatre 339: Finding Historical Context

The reference collection is an excellent place to begin your research if you want a quick and easy way to find:

When using a reference book:

Below are some reference resources for this course. The links take you to the FRANCIS record with the full publication information.

Chronologies

Chronologies are great for researching world issues, events, and people contemporary to a playwright or the historical context of a play. Selected chronologies are listed below.

The Timetables of History
Sawyer Reference D11 .G78 2005
A year by year table of important events in history and politics; literature and theater; religion, philosophy, and learning; visual arts; music; science, technology, and growth; and daily life.

Chronology of World History
Sawyer Reference D11 .M39 1999 (4 vols)
A year by year listing important dates and events in politics, government, and economics; science, technology, and medicine; arts and ideas; and society.

History and Culture Encyclopedias

The reference collection has a variety of specialized encyclopedias covering particular time periods, countries, and cultures. Some examples include:

The Oxford Companion to Irish History
Sawyer Reference DA910 .O935 1998

Encyclopedia of Contemporary French Culture
Sawyer Reference DC33.7 .E53 1998

The Encyclopedia of the Third Reich
Sawyer Reference DD256.5 .G76313 1991

Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture
Sawyer Reference F1406 .E53 1996

For additional sources, browse the reference collection and stacks around these call numbers. To find the appropriate call number range to browse, consult the Library of Congress Classification Outlines for history:

For more in-depth historical information search FRANCIS for books or Historical Abstracts for articles. Start with a keyword search, and then look at the subject headings for a more precise search.

Encyclopedias for Related Areas

The reference collection has encyclopedias for all areas of study. You may need to consult an encyclopedia in a more subject-specific area to get a better understanding of a concept. Some examples might include:

Grove Dictionary of Art
Online edition of the Dictionary of Art. Provides information on all aspects of world art. Includes a database of images covering the visual arts from prehistory to the present. Print edition available in Sawyer Reference, N31 .D5 1996.

Oxford Encyclopedia of Theatre and Performance
This encyclopedia provides authoritative information about theatre and performance from ancient Greek theatre to the latest developments in London, Paris, New York, and around the globe. Also covers dance, opera, radio, film, television, and popular performance. Print edition also available Sawyer Reference PN2035 .O92 2003.

Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy
International in scope this encyclopedia examines all areas of philosophical inquiry, ranging from aesthetics, epistemology, ethics, logic, metaphysics, and religion. Print edition available in Sawyer Reference, B51 .R68 1998.

See also resources for production history.