McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of World Drama
Sawyer REF PN1625 .M3 1984 (5 vols)
Entries for playwrights provide a list of plays, indicating when they were written, published, and first produced. Also includes a biographical overview, a summary of general themes, plots of plays, and a bibliography of criticism.The London Stage, 1660-1800
Sawyer PN2592 .L6 (11 vols.)
"A calendar of plays, entertainments & afterpieces, together with casts, box-receipts and contemporary comment."British Playwrights, 1880-1956: A Research and Production Sourcebook
Sawyer REF PR736 .B7 1996
British Playwrights, 1956-1995: A Research and Production Sourcebook
Sawyer REF PR736 .B75 1996
Lists first production, runs of significant productions, and important revivals. Summarizes published criticism of the productions. Also includes biographical information, assessment of the playwright's career, archival sources, and bibliographies of primary and secondary sources.The Traffic of the Stage
A database of Shakespeare productions in the U.K. from 1997-2003.American Theatre Companies, 1749-1887
Sawyer REF PN2237 .A43 1986
American Theatre Companies, 1888-1930
Sawyer REF PN2256 .A44 1987
American Theatre Companies, 1931-1986
Sawyer REF PN2266 .A54 1989
Provides history of the company and includes listing of productions for each season. Each entry has a bibliography for further research. Use the title index to determine which companies performed particular plays.The Best Plays Of ... (1899-1909, 1909-1919, annual 1919/20-present)
Sawyer PN6111 .B4
Includes summaries of the seasons, the script of the top 10 plays of the year (or portions of it), a listing of plays produced in the U.S., and pictures and illustrations of some productions.Internet Broadway Database
"Provides records of productions from the beginnings of New York theatre until today."
For additional sources, search FRANCIS using these strategies: