Theatre 307: Stage Direction
Images

Reference Sources | Databases | Browsing Books and Magazines

Reference Sources

Theatrical Design in the Twentieth Century: An Index to Photographic Reproductions of Scenic Designs
Sawyer REF PN2091.S8 T47 1996
Indexes photographs of 20th-century sets, rendering and models of theatre productions from 114 books and journals. Has production name and designer indexes.

General Index to Illustrations (1931)
Sawyer REF N7525 .E6 1931
Indexes illustrations in books and magazines by subject from the late 1800s to 1920s.

Illustration Index
Sawyer REF N7525 .I55
Five editions of this index cover illustrations in books and magazines from 1950 to 1981.

Photography Index
Sawyer REF TR199 .P3
Indexes photographic reproductions in books from the 1820s to the 1970s. Arranged by photographer, but there is a subject index.

Databases

A P Images (1844-)
Current and historical archive from the Associated Press. Includes over 1 million primary source photos, 24,000 maps, logos, and graphics, and more than 4,500 hours of audio files dating from the 1920's.

ARTstor (Coverage Varies)
Digital archive of images from museum collections. Focuses on art, architecture, painting, photography, sculpture, decorative arts and design. Also includes images in the field of archeology, anthropology and social history.

Grove Dictionary of Art (1996-Present)
Online edition of the Dictionary of Art. Provides information on all aspects of world art. Includes a database of images covering the visual arts from prehistory to the present. Print edition available in Sawyer Reference, N31 .D5 1996.

Browsing Books and Magazines

To look for pictures in books, go to the reference collection and the stacks and browse the call number ranges for areas related to theatre.

General magazines such as Life, Harpers, and the London Illustrated News are shelved in the AP2s to the AP4s. Many of these magazines go back to the late 1800s/early 1900s. Some will only be available in microfilm (located on the lower level) or in storage (use the storage form to request volumes).