Chronologies are great for researching world issues, events, and people contemporary to a playwright or the historical context of a play. Selected chronologies are listed below.
The Timetables of History
Sawyer REF D11 .G78 2005Chronology of World History
Sawyer REF D11 .M39 1999 (4 vols) and onlineThe Columbia Chronicles of American Life: 1910 - 1992
Sawyer REF E169.1 .G665 1987
The reference collection has a variety of specialized encyclopedias covering particular time periods, countries, and writers. Some examples include:
Encyclopedia of the Renaissance
Sawyer REF CB361 .E52 1999 (6 vols)New Cambridge Modern History
Sawyer D208 .N4 (14 vols)Reader's Guide to British History
Sawyer REF DA34 .R43 2003 (2 vols)All Things Shakespeare: An Encyclopedia of Shakespeare's World
Sawyer REF PR2892 .O56 2002 (2 vols)
For additional sources, browse the reference collection or stacks. To find the appropriate call number range to browse, consult the Library of Congress Classification Outlines for history:
You may also find useful information in articles. The core databases for history research are:
America: History and Life (1964-Present )
An index to scholarly articles, dissertations, and book reviews on the history and culture of North America (United States and Canada) from prehistory to the present. Covers approximately 1,800 journals.Historical Abstracts (1955-Present)
An index to books, scholarly articles, and dissertations in world history (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Covers approximately 1,800 journals.