Drama criticism looks at the play in a larger context, analyzing themes, characters, symbolism, and the deeper meaning of the play. It does not tend to analyze particular productions or simply recount the plot. Criticism can be found in a variety of sources.
Reference Sources | Articles | Books
American Drama Criticism (1890-1975)
Sawyer REF PS330 .P34 1967
Provides citations to reviews and criticism in books, journals and magazines. Use FRANCIS to find the cited book or periodical in our collection.Drama Criticism (multivolume continuing series)
Sawyer REF PN1625 .D72 1991
Provides biographical and critical introduction, list of principal works, author commentary, overview of dramatist's entire career, excerpts of criticism of individual plays and production reviews, and a list of further reading. Use the cumulative author index in the last volume to find your dramatist's entry in Drama Criticism or the other criticism series provided by this publisher.Major Modern Dramatists
Sawyer REF PN1861 .M27 1984 (2 vols)
Gives an overview of the critical reception by presenting excerpts from reviews, articles, and books. Some excerpts have been translated into English.Shakespearean Criticism (multivolume continuing series)
Sawyer REF PR2965 .S44
Volumes 1-10 present overview of critical response to each Shakespearean work. Volumes 11-26 give performance history of his plays on the stage and screen. Volumes 27-56 focus on criticism published after 1960. Beginning with volume 57, the series has focused on a works-based approach including excerpts from the most recent criticism available. Use the cumulative index at the end of the most recent volume to find all instances of the play you wish to investigate.
MLA International Bibliography (1926-Present, print 1956-1962 Sawyer REF P1 .M642)
Considered the database for literary research. Search for the author and/or by title of play. Coverage is international; use limits to get English-language materials only.Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (1923-present)
Sawyer PR19 .M6
Published by the Modern Humanities Research Association, it complements the MLA International Bibliography by providing more comprehensive access to books only published in Britain and smaller British journals. Arranged by century and then by individual authors.
Drama criticism is often publish in books as collections of essays by multiple authors or an entire book written by a single author analyzing a playwright's career, a particular theme, or a particular play. To find books, search FRANCIS using the following strategies.
- Search by Subject for [playwright's last name followed by first name] and browse for the heading "criticism and interpretation".
Example: O'Neill Eugene, 1888 1953 -- Criticism And Interpretation- Search by Subject for [playwright's last name followed by first name] and browse for headings with the play's title.
Example: O'Neill Eugene, 1888 1953 -- Long Days Journey Into Night