Theatre 104: Using Reference Sources

The reference collection is an excellent place to begin your research if you want a quick and easy way to find:

When using a reference book:

Below are some reference resources for this course. The call number links take you to the FRANCIS record with the full publication information.

Encyclopedias

The encyclopedias below provide in-depth overviews of topics and provide bibliographies for further study.

The Reader's Encyclopedia of World Drama
Sawyer Reference PN1625 .G33 2002
While originally published in 1969, this encyclopedia is still a good starting point. The entries focus on drama as literature, not as theater. Thus, it does not contain information on actors, theater companies, stage design, or elements of performance on the stage. It does have entries on playwrights, plays, history of drama in particular countries, and types of dramas. Entries contain suggestions of primary works and secondary literature on the topic.

The World Encyclopedia of Contemporary Theatre (6 vols)
Sawyer Reference PN1861 .W67 1994
A cross-cultural, comparative encyclopedia of nations and their theatres. Each entry is divided into 12 sections: history of major theatrical movements and events since 1945; structure of the national theatre community including statistics and awards; artistic profile of major artistic trends; music theatre and dance theatre; theatre for young audiences; puppet theatre; design; theatre space and architecture; training; criticism, scholarship and publishings, and further reading. Volume 6 has an extensive bibliography of works about national theatre and drama studies and theatre topics. Index volume allows comparison of topics across cultures.

McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of World Drama (5 vols)
Sawyer REF PN1625 .M3 1984
Focuses on the achievements of playwrights who have influenced the evolution of world drama, but also includes survey articles on regional, national, and ethnic-linguistic drama, theatre companies, and genres.

Oxford Encyclopedia of Theatre and Performance
This encyclopedia provides authoritative information about theatre and performance from ancient Greek theatre to the latest developments in London, Paris, New York, and around the globe. Also covers dance, opera, radio, film, television, and popular performance. Print edition also available Sawyer Reference PN2035 .O92 2003.

The Oxford Illustrated History of Theatre
Sawyer Reference PN2111 .O84 1995
Includes great images and gives excellent overviews.

Guides and Companions

Guides and companions provide brief overviews of topics.

The Oxford Companion to the Theatre
Sawyer Reference PN2035 .H3 1983

The Cambridge Guide to Theatre
Sawyer Reference PN2035 .C27 1995 and online

The Cambridge Guide to American Theatre
Sawyer Reference PN2220 .C35 1993

The Oxford Companion to American Theatre
Sawyer Reference PN2220 .B6 2004 and online version

The Cambridge Guide to Asian Theatre
Sawyer Stacks PN2860 .C35 1993

The Oxford Companion to Indian Theatre
Sawyer Stacks PN2881 .O95 2004

The Cambridge Guide to African and Caribbean Theatre
Sawyer Reference PN2969 .C36 1994

Introductory Theatre Texts

Dramatic Theory and Criticism: Greeks to Grotowski
Sawyer Stacks PN1621 .D8

History of the Theatre
Saywer Stacks PN2101 .B68 1999

Reference Sources in Related Areas

Encyclopedia of Religion
Online edition of the Encyclopedia of Religion. Contains articles on important ideas, beliefs, rituals, myths, symbols, religious movements, and persons that have played a role in the universal history of religions from Paleolithic times to the present. International in scope. Print version of this edition available in Sawyer Reference, BL31 .E46 2005.

Encyclopedia of World Cultures (10 vols)
Sawyer Reference GN307 .E53 1991
Volumes are arranged by geographical regions of the world and then alphabetically by culture.

International Encyclopedia of Dance (6 vols)
Sawyer Reference GV1585 .I586 1998
Volumes are arranged alphabetically by topic. Includes survey articles on non-Western dance traditions and entries on specific dances.

The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music (10 vols)
Sawyer Reference ML100 .G16 1997
Each volume is devoted to a particular region of the world.

Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians
Online version of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, The New Grove Dictionary of Opera, and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz. Includes scholarship in all areas of music. Covers Western as well as non-Western and folk music. Print editions available in Sawyer Reference, ML100 .N48 2001, ML102.O6 N5 1992, and ML102.J3 N48 2002 respectively.

Grove Dictionary of Art
Online edition of the Dictionary of Art. Provides information on all aspects of world art. Includes a database of images covering the visual arts from prehistory to the present. Print edition available in Sawyer Reference, N31 .D5 1996.