Theatre Research Checklist
Check available bibliographies
Bibliographies are the best place to start a research project yet too often we forget about them!
Before using the library catalog and databases to search for books and articles, take a moment to consult the reading materials used in class; you will most likely find relevant bibliographies.
Find background materials
The Reference collection is the best place to look for background information (biographies, chronologies, statistics, etc.) These sources often have bibliographies of suggested or further readings. See the Finding Background Materials section of the Theatre Research Guide for suggestions.
Search FRANCIS
Start by using the Advanced Keyword search. When you find a "good" book, look at the subject headings, and then use them to do Subject searches.
Tip: Keep track of the materials you find by creating a folder in your email and exporting (e-mailing) the references to yourself, or consider using a citation tool to manage your citations and create bibliographies.
Consult bibliographies in the books found on FRANCIS
Most books available in the library include bibliographies referring to additional books and articles. Even if you find only one "good" book in FRANCIS its bibliography will lead you to additional references.
Search for journal articles
To search for articles on a given subject, you need to use a periodical index. Periodical indexes provide references to specific topics covered in a number of journals.
There are dozens of periodical indexes available in print and electronic form. See the list of theatre indexes and databases or Ask a Librarian for a recommendation on which periodical indexes are most appropriate for your research topic.
Locate journal articles
- When using an online index, click on the
icon. If we own an electronic copy, there will be a link to the full text which will display the article, show the table of contents for the issue, or provide a search page. If the article is not available full text, use the FRANCIS button to check our print holdings, and if it is not there use the Williams ILL button to request it from another library
- If the database doesn't have the
icon, you can do a journal title search in FRANCIS or use citation linker to determine whether we own the journal in print or electronic format. If we don't own the journal, request the article through interlibrary loan using citation linker.
Request materials not owned by the library
To obtain books and videos not available at Williams, use the
button in FRANCIS to see if one of our partner libraries has the item. If it is not there, use the BLC Virtual Catalog (books only) or ILLiad, our interlibrary loan system. Interlibrary loan is a free service; never pay for information when we can get it for you for free!
Search the Web
The Web is a good place to find out information about associations (purpose, activities, members, etc.), activities of grassroots groups, and other information that is not published in traditional print resources. It is particularly important to evaluate information found on Web sites.