The reference collection is an excellent place to begin your research if you want a quick and easy way to find:
When using a reference source:
Below are some common reference resources for exploring theatre topics.
One of the best ways to begin any research project is to find an article on your topic in a specialized encyclopedia or dictionary. Usually, the articles are written by scholars specializing in the subject and are followed by a short list of recommended resources. Selected theatre encyclopedias are listed below.
McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of World Drama
Sawyer REF PN1625 .M3 1984 (5 vols)World Encyclopedia of Contemporary Theatre
Sawyer REF PN1861 .W67 1994 (6 vols)Cambridge Guide to Theatre
Sawyer REF PN2035 .C27 1995 and onlineOxford Companion to the Theatre
Sawyer REF PN2035 .H3 1983
Concise version available online.Oxford Encyclopedia of Theatre & Performance
Sawyer REF PN2035 .O92 2003 (2 vols.) and onlineOxford Companion to American Theatre
Sawyer REF PN2220 .B6 2004 and onlineCambridge Guide to American Theatre
Sawyer REF PN2220 .C35 1993Encyclopedia of Latin American Theater
Sawyer REF PQ7082.D7 E63 2003
To find additional encyclopedias, browse the reference collection. See Library of Congress Classification for Theatre to identify the call number range to browse.
Biographies will tell you about the person's life and how their works where influenced by the world around them.
For American or British people who are no longer living, consult the following general reference works:
American National Biography
Sawyer REF E176 .A447 1999 (24 vols)Oxford Dictionary of National Biography>
Sawyer REF DA28 .O95 2004 (60 vols)
Biographical reference sources for theatre are likely to give more in-depth profiles of playwrights, actors, and directors including dates of productions. Some of these sources include:
Biography Resource Center [online database]
Provides longer (narrative) and shorter (thumbnail and Who's Who) biographies from reference books as well as magazine articles and web sites. Includes Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Dramatists, Contemporary Theatre, Film, and Television, and International Dictionary of Theatre, Volume 2: Playwrights.Dictionary of Literary Biography
Each volume in this series focuses on a specific literary genre and/or time period. The volumes are shelved in the reference collection according to their subject, not shelved together as a set. To identify volumes about dramatists, do an advanced search in FRANCIS for title "dictionary of literary biography" and subject drama*.
For additional information, see How to Find Biographies.
Chronologies are great for researching world issues, events, and people contemporary to a playwright or the historical context of a play. Selected chronologies are listed below.
The Timetables of History
Sawyer REF D11 .G78 2005Chronology of World History
Sawyer REF D11 .M39 1999 (4 vols) and onlineThe Columbia Chronicles of American Life: 1910 - 1992
Sawyer REF E169.1 .G665 1987