Library of Congress Classification for Theatre
Williams College Libraries arrange materials on the shelves using
the Library of Congress Classification System. This system groups
together materials on similar subjects in the same call number range.
This system is used in the book stacks and in the reference collection.
Knowing the call number range for a particular subject will allow you
to browse the shelves for materials.
Below are some call number ranges of interest for theatre research.
Theatre
- Literature (General). Drama: PN1600-3307
- Drama. History: PN 1720-1861
- Dramatic representation. The Theater: PN2000-3307
By time period: PN2131-2193
- Collections of General Literature. Drama: PN6110.5-6120
Literature
The following areas of literature also have call number ranges for
drama history and criticism and drama collections. You will also find
plays and criticism in the subject area for individual authors. The
call number areas for individual authors are broken down by time period
and then alphabetical by author:
- Romance Literatures: PQ
French Literature
- Drama History and Criticism: PQ500-591
- Drama Collections: PQ1211-1241
- Authors: PQ1411-2726
Italian Literature
- Drama History and Criticism: PQ4133-4160
- Drama Collections: PQ4227-4245
- Authors: PQ4265-4926
Spanish Literature
- Drama History and Criticism: PQ6098.7-6129
- Drama Collections: PQ6217-6241
- Authors: PQ6271-6726
- English Literature: PR
- Drama History and Criticism: PR621-739
- Drama Collections: PR1241-1273
- Authors: PR1490-6126
- American Literature: PS
- Drama History and Criticism: PS330-352
- Drama Collections: PS623-635
- Authors: PS700-3626
- German Literature: PT
- Drama History and Criticism: PT605-709
- Drama Collections: PT1251-1299
- Authors: PT1501-2728
Related Areas
The related areas below are useful in helping to understand the
historical context and design elements appropriate for that context:
- General and World History: D (general world history and
breakdowns by country. Within each category, it is further arranged by
time period.)
- American History: E and F
- Manners and Customs: GT
- Houses. Dewllings: GT 170-474
- Costume. Dress. Fashion: GT500-2370
- Social History: HN
- Music: M
- History and Criticism: ML 159-360 (arranged by special time periods and then by country)
- Musical Theater: MT955-956
- Fine Arts: N
- History of Art: N5300-7418
- Portraits: N7575-7624
- Architecture: NA
- Decorative Arts: NK
- Interior Decoration. House Decoration: NK1700-3505
- Technology: T
- Fashion Photography: TR679
- Clothing Manufacture. Dressmaking. Tailoring: TT490-695
- Hairdressing: TT950-979
- Home Economics: TX
For additional information see Library of Congress Classification Outline.