To find scholarly articles on a topic, you will need to use a periodical index. Most of the Libraries' indexes are available as online databases, but in some cases you will need to consult a print index for older materials. Each periodical index focuses on a specific subject area or body of literature. Because most indexes are produced at a national level, they may include many magazines and journals not available at Williams. See below for more information about locating articles at Williams and borrowing from other libraries.
Expanded Academic Index (1980-Present)
Multi-disciplinary index to scholarly academic and general interest periodicals.
Sociological Abstracts (1952-Present)
Index to articles, conference proceedings and book reviews published in sociology journals and related fields such as anthropology, economics, education, linguistics, medicine, philosophy, political science, and social psychology.
PsycInfo (1887-Present)
Database that indexes journal articles, book chapters, books, technical reports, and dissertations in the field of psychology.
Social Sciences Citation Index (1956-Present)
One of three databases included in Web of Science. Multidisciplinary database covering the journal literature of the social sciences. Disciplines covered include: Anthropology, History, Law, Linguistics, Political Science, Sociology, Psychology, Women's Studies
Depending on your topic, you may need to use additional databases to locate articles in the fields of religion, gender, economics, etc. To select the appropriate database, consult the list of databases by subject or consult with a librarian.
While searching one of the above databases, you will want to determine whether the Williams College Libraries own the journals containing the articles you wish to read.
Many databases have this
icon. When you click on the icon in the database, it will attempt to find an electronic version of the text in our collection. If it doesn't find an electronic version, it will give you a screen with a link to FRANCIS and WILL. The FRANCIS link sends a pre-formatted search into FRANCIS to find print or other electronic subscriptions in our collection. The WILL link provides an automatically filled-in interlibrary loan request form to get a copy from another library.
If the database you are using does not have the Find Text icon, you can do a journal title search in FRANCIS. If we do not have an electronic or print subscription, you can submit an interlibrary loan request through WILL.