Health, Illness, and Medicine in Modern Society (Spring 2007)



Background Information

Credo Reference (formerly Xreferplus) (Coverage Varies)
Collection of electronic editions of reference dictionaries and handbooks.

Gale Virtual Reference Library (Coverage Varies)
A collection of reference sources from multiple publishers providing authoritative essays on varied topics from numerous subject areas. Searches can be ran in individual books or across the entire collection. List of Titles Included.


Finding Article

Multidisciplinary Databases

Expanded Academic Index (1980-Present)
Multi-disciplinary index to scholarly academic and general interest periodicals.

Web of Science (1900-Present )
Multi-disciplinary index to academic and general interest journals. Includes Science Citation Index Expanded (1900-present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1956-present) and Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present ).


Social Sciences Databases

Sociological Abstracts (1952-Present)
Index to articles, conference proceedings and book reviews published in sociology journals and related fields such as anthropology, economics, education, linguistics, medicine, philosophy, political science, and social psychology.

Anthropological Literature (Coverage Varies)
Index to the anthropology journals housed in the Tozzer library at Harvard. Covers anthropology, archeology and related disciplines such as art history, economics, psychology, religion and ethnic studies. Includes book reviews.

PsycInfo (1887-Present)
Database that indexes journal articles, book chapters, books, technical reports, and dissertations in the field of psychology.


Medical & Health Databases

Health Reference Center (1995-Present)
Electronic collection of general interest health and fitness magazines, medical and professional periodicals, reference books and pamphlets.

ScienceDirect (Coverage Varies)
Full-text electronic access to over 1000 peer-reviewed journals published by Elsevier and its subsidiaries. Covers disciplines in the sciences, business, economics, and medicine.

PubMed (1965-Present)
Database, provided by the National Library of Medicine, containing citations to medical literature.

Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe - Medical (Coverage Varies)
Subset of Lexis-Nexis database providing access to medical news articles from medical & health news sources.



General News Databases

ProQuest National Newspapers (Current News)

ProQuest International Newsstand

ProQuest Historical Newspapers (US)


Specialized Databases

Ethnic Newswatch (1990-Present; some coverage 1960-1989)
Full-text of articles from newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic minorities and native press in the United States.

Gender Watch (1971-Present)
Database of publications focusing on gender issues. Includes references to scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books, booklets and pamphlets, conference proceedings, and government, n-g-o and special reports.

Catalog of Government Publications (1976-current)
The CGP is the finding tool for federal publications issued through the Government Printing Office (GPO); includes descriptive records for historical and current publications and provides direct links to those that are available online.



Going Further ...

Depending on your topic, you may need to use additional databases to locate articles in the fields of religion, gender, economics, etc. To select the appropriate database, consult the list of databases by subject or consult with a librarian.

Locating Articles

While searching one of the above databases, you will want to determine whether the Williams College Libraries own the journals containing the articles you wish to read.

Many databases have this Find Text icon icon. When you click on the icon in the database, it will attempt to find an electronic version of the text in our collection. If it doesn't find an electronic version, it will give you a screen with a link to FRANCIS and WILL. The FRANCIS link sends a pre-formatted search into FRANCIS to find print or other electronic subscriptions in our collection. The WILL link provides an automatically filled-in interlibrary loan request form to get a copy from another library.

If the database you are using does not have the Find Text icon, you can do a journal title search in FRANCIS. If we do not have an electronic or print subscription, you can submit an interlibrary loan request through WILL.