General | Presidential | Congressional | Declassified | Judicial
Monthly Catalog
The Monthly Catalog is a comprehensive index of all titles ordered
printed through the Government Printing Office. It includes agency
publications and hearings.
1895-1994: print index located on back wall of Government Documents Section
1976-present: Catalog of Government Publications
Most government documents produced before 1992 are not cataloged in FRANCIS. Use the Monthly Catalog to identify the SuDoc number (the call number system used for government documents) for the item you want. Then physically look on the shelves in the government documents area and in the government documents microfiche cabinets. For congressional documents, see Where to Find Congressional Hearings, Reports, and Prints.
Public Papers of the Presidents of the United
States (1929-present)
Sawyer J 80 .A283
Hoover through Clinton also available through University of Michigan Digital Library
Contains the public messages, speeches, and
statements of the President. Franklin D. Roosevelt's public papers and addresses can be found at Sawyer E806 R6. For other presidential
papers, search for the president as author.
Congressional Publications (1789 - Present)
Index and full-text of Congressional prints, hearings, reports, legislative histories. Includes full text of Congressional Research Service reports from 1916 - present; full-text of Serial Set documents produced from 1789 to 1969. Index and full-text of Congressional Record from 1985 - present. Search tip: use "US" for "United States" (no quotes).
Use to find published and unpublished House and Senate committee hearings, committee prints, Senate Executive documents and reports. Database has full text of bills (1989-), public laws (1988-), Congressional Record (1985-), and the current U.S. Code.
For help locating these documents in Sawyer Library, see Where to Find Congressional Hearings, Reports, and Prints.
Declassified Documents Reference System (1941-current)
Declassified White House, CIA, FBI, State Department documents from presidential libraries.