SOC 101: Invitation to Sociology - Updating Keywords (Fall 2008)

This guide is designed to support the assignment of updating Raymond Williams' Keywords published in 1976.

To trace the evolution of terms since 1976, you need to consult several types of sources to establish:

  1. the evolutionary process of the language
  2. the official meaning of terms
  3. the usage of terms in specific contexts and environments 


1. Documenting the history of the English language

Use FRANCIS, the library catalog and use subjects such as:

English Language United States Usage

English Language Usage

2. Establishing meaning of terms

English Language Dictionaries
A large collection of print and online dictionaries are available in Sawyer and Schow.  For a list, search FRANCIS for the subject English Language Dictionaries

Etymological Dictionaries
Trace the history of terms form their first appearance in the English language to the present.  For a list, search FRANCIS for the subject Etymology English Language Dictionaries

The more comprehensive etymological dictionary of the English language is the Oxford English Dictionary Online. Make sure to use the Time Line feature)

Usage Dictionaries
List accepted contemporary use of terms and the evolution of usage (vs. the evolution of meaning in the OED). 

Print resources:
Dictionary of Modern American usage
New York Times Manual of Style and Usage
Speaking Freely: A Guided Tour of American English

Online resources:
Credo Reference
Oxford Reference Online - Dictionaries and Thesaurus 

Specialized Dictionaries and encyclopedias
Define words in the context of an academic field or discipline.  For example:

A Critical Dictionary of Sociology
A Dictionary of Psychology
The Dictionary of Anthropology

Periodical Indexes
Print periodical indexes such as the Reader's Guide to Periodical Literature and the New York Times Index are great indicators of linguistic trends.  By comparing recent and older indexes, you may see how concepts have emerged in popular culture, how they have evolved and sometimes disappeared.  


3. Usage of terms in specific contexts and environments

Recently published books

Use FRANCIS, the library catalog,  to find recent books published about your keyword. Do a Subject Search for your keyword 

To assess the quality of the books you find:

  • Look at the publisher: books published by university presses (e.g. Yale University Press) are scholarly books
  • Look for books reviews

Newspapers and Magazines

Readers' Guide Abstracts
Index to popular magazines such as Newsweek.

ProQuest National Newspapers (Current News)
Full text of leading U.S. newspapers

ProQuest International Newsstand
Full text of English language international newspapers

Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe - News

Full-text of US and international news sources, including wires

Scholarly Journals

Use periodical indexes such as Sociological Abstracts  to find scholarly articles.  Each discipline has a core index.  Complete list of periodicals indexes.

E-journals collections such as Project MUSE and JSTORare also useful to search across disciplines.

News broadcasts

Vanderbilt Television News Archive

Open web resources

Wikipedia
Click on the History tab to see the evolution of the annotation 

Blogs:

Bloglines

Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe - News