Choose a topic that interests youThe more interesting the topic, the more enjoyable the research process will be. Be careful not to choose a topic so broad that your paper will lack focus. At the same time, be careful not to choose a topic so narrow that you will find it impossible to gather enough information to complete your research.
Formulate your thesisAfter narrowing down your research topic, it is time to formulate a thesis / research question. Keep an open mind as you do your research; look for alternative points, not just facts that support your thesis.
QUICK TIP: Formulate an open-ended question - a question that can't be answered by yes or no.
Browse the reference sectionThe reference collection is a good place to look for background and introductory information. The topics in reference books contain summaries. Use the citation list that accompanies the entry to find original research articles and books on the topic.
Search for books using FRANCISStart with a KEYWORD search. When you find one relevant book, click on the subject headings of that work to locate related books. Even if you find only one "good" book in FRANCIS don't give up, the bibliography may lead you to additional references.
QUICK TIP: Books and reference materials on similar topics will have similar call numbers.
Search for journal articles using Indexes & DatabasesTo search for articles, use an index or database. These provide references to specific articles published in journals and newspapers as well as book chapter, dissertations, and reports. Begin with the suggested resources or select a database by department or program.
QUICK TIP: Use Web of Science to see who has cited a paper since it was published.
Locate the full-text of journal articles Most electronic databases only include an abstract, a summary, of the article.
To locate the articles themselves, you need to determine if the library
has an electronic or print subscription to the journal. Click the
button in the database you are searching.
This will search for an electronic version of the article.
If it is not available, you will be given the option to search
FRANCIS for the print copy.
Request materials not owned by the library If material is not available at Williams College, you can borrow it from another library. First time ILLiad users must register.
QUICK TIP: Start early to ensure adequate time for delivery of InterLibrary Loan materials.
Search the webRelevant information is available on the web. Use the information you find on the Internet to supplement your library research. The Evaluating Sources Checklist will help you determine if a site, as well as the information provided, is reliable.
Cite your sourcesCite all your sources and attribute all ideas, not your own, to their proper owner. The WCL online Citation Guide can help you format your reference list.