Library databases are Williams network only; to access from off-campus, use the Proxy Server
Contact Rebecca Ohm, library liaison for Religion, for help with any of these library resources.
Cite your sources! Citation Guide
- World News Connection
1994 - current- World News Connection is a database of non-U.S. media sources monitored and translated by the Foreign Broadcast Information Service, an intelligence-gathering arm of the U.S. Government; includes full text of wire services reports, TV and radio broadcast transcripts, and newspaper articles. Sources are annotated with brief descriptions and intended audience. Searches can be limited to specific cities, countries or regions, and by broad topic or your keywords. Continues the FBIS INDEX (Foreign Broadcast Information Service Index)index (1978-1994) to full-text microfiche located in Sawyer. VIEW WNC SOURCES
- A P Images
1844 - current- International collection of over 1 million primary source photos, 24,000 maps, logos, and graphics, and 800,000 sound bites.
- ProQuest International Newsstand
mid 1990s - current- Proquest International Newsstand includes 162 full-text English-language titles - newspapers, transcripts, wire feeds; content is comprehensive and wide-ranging, but does not include images. VIEW TITLES
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers (US)
1851 - 1999- Digitized full-content (including images) of U. S. newspapers dating back to 1851. VIEW TITLES Searches can be refined, including limiting to document type (editorial, obituary, image, etc.).
- Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe - News
1980s - current- Choose World News, U.S. News etc., as appropriate. Lexis Nexis is a full-text database containing selected content, mostly mainstream media, trade, legal and business publications. No images. Useful for assessing commercial or economic impact of events.
- ProQuest National Newspapers (Current News)
mid-1980s - current- Full-text articles (no images) from the Atlanta Journal Constitution, Boston Globe, Chicago Tribune, Christian Science Monitor, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, USA Today, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post.
- TV News Archive at Vanderbilt University
1968 - current- Database of over 700,000 broadcast video news segments, including special reports. Williams College is a sponsor, which allows our users immediate access to CNN broadcats; copies of other broadcasts are loaned, not sold. A limited amount ($50 per request) of library funds are available for tape loans, which must go through InterLibrary Loan.
- world-newspapers.com free web - current only
- Newspapers and other media, organized by region/country. Very good for current news. Searchable.
- Euro-News
free web - current only- Simultaneous broadcasts in English, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, Russian and Spanish; video clips of top stories; not searchable. Current news from a European perspective.
- Radio-Locator
free web - current only- Links to over 10,000 radio station web pages and over 2500 audio streams from radio stations in the U.S. and around the world; searchable.