Library databases are Williams network only; to access from off-campus, use the Proxy Server
Contact Rebecca Ohm, library liaison for Religion, for help with any of these library resources.
Cite your sources! Citation Guide
- Women's Studies International
1972 - current- Covers the core disciplines in Women’s Studies and related areas. Includes references to journals, newspapers, book chapters, reports, dissertations, and more.
- International Political Science Abstracts
1989 - current- IPSA indexes journal articles and other academic literature on foreign policy, international politics, political theory, and government institutions.
- Religion Index
1949 - current- An index for articles, books and essays covering religious topics based on religions around the world, and religious perspectives on various issues. Created by the American Theological Library Association (ATLA).
- PAIS International
1915 - current- PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service International indexes secondary and primary content on global public policy and social issues.
- Index Islamicus
1906 - current- Indexes journal articles, books, book chapters and other scholarly literature on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world, including Muslim areas of Asia and Africa, and Muslim minorities elsewhere.
Historical Abstracts
(1955-Present)
An index to books, scholarly articles, and dissertations in world history (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Covers approximately 1,800 journals.
- World News Connection
1994 - current- World News Connection is a database of non-U.S. media sources monitored and translated by the Foreign Broadcast Information Service, an intelligence-gathering arm of the U.S. Government; includes full text of wire services reports, TV and radio broadcast transcripts, and newspaper articles. Sources are annotated with brief descriptions and intended audience. Searches can be limited to specific cities, countries or regions, and by broad topic or your keywords. Continues the FBIS INDEX (Foreign Broadcast Information Service Index)index (1978-1994) to full-text microfiche located in Sawyer. VIEW WNC SOURCES
- A P Multimedia Archive
1844 - current- International collection of over 1 million primary source photos, 24,000 maps, logos, and graphics, and 800,000 sound bites.
- ProQuest International Newsstand
mid 1990s - current- Proquest International Newsstand includes 162 full-text English-language titles - newspapers, transcripts, wire feeds; content is comprehensive and wide-ranging, but does not include images. VIEW TITLES
- Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe - News
1980s - current- Choose World News. Lexis Nexis is a full-text database containing selected content, mostly mainstream media, trade, legal and business publications. No images. Useful for assessing commercial or economic impact of events.