PSCI 311 - Congressional Leadership - Spring 2005

Library databases are Williams network only; to access from off-campus, use the Proxy Server
Contact Rebecca Ohm, library liaison for Political Science, for help with any of these library resources.

Cite your sources! Citation Guide

Biographical Sources | Politics in Congress
Congressional Documents | News Sources | House and Senate websites


Biographical Sources

Biography Resource Center
Full-text biographical information.
Biographical Directory of the American Congress 1775 - 1996 SAWYER REF JK 1010 .A5 1996
Congressional Directory 108th Congress SAWYER REF JK 1011 .U6 108th 2003-2004
Search FRANCIS, the Library's online catalog, by SUBJECT (last name first).

Politics in Congress

Congressional Quarterly Almanac 1945 - 2000 SAWYER REF JK 1 .C6
Congressional Quarterly Almanac Plus 2001 - 2003 SAWYER REF JK 1 .C6
Well-organized and easy to use, CQ Almanac and CQ Almanac Plus are yearly digests of the most important issues taken up by Congress. Analyses legislation, personalities, and relationships among Members as well as relationships with the occupant of the White House and other government branches.
Congressional Quarterly Weekly Report
Full-text back to 1983 of the journal from which information in CQ Almanac is taken. Choose "archive"; note that default date is the current Congress - select range of years you need.
Guide to Congress SAWYER REF JK1021 .C565 2000
Also published by Congressional Quarterly; describes the inner workings of Congress, including various ways leaders get and keep power.
Committees in the U.S. Congress, 1789 - 1946 SAWYER REF JK1029 .C64 2002
Committees in the U.S. Congress, 1946 - 1992 SAWYER REF JK1029 .N45 1993
House and Senate Standing Committees, Select Committees, and Member Assignments; the data in these volumes provides a unique resource invaluable for tracking power and influence in Congress.

Congressional Documents

1789 - 1969
Electronic index to microfiche collections (most available in Sawyer lower level) of United States Congressional prints, hearings, reports and other documents produced between 1789 and 1969. Documents referenced in this and in Congressional Universe are not part of Congressional Record. Ask at the Research Help Desk for assistance in finding microfiche.
Congressional Publications
1970 - current
Electronic index to Congressional material produced from 1970 - on. Includes prints, hearings, reports, legislative histories and other documents. Most of these documents are available in print in Sawyer lower level. They are filed by Superintendent of Documents number (Y4, etc ...). sk at the Research Help Desk for assistance in locating these documents.
Congressional Record 1873 - 1994 Sawyer Library, lower level
The Congressional Record is the official record of the proceedings and debates of the United States Congress. Volumes in Sawyer Library, including some volumes in microfiche) are the permanent "bound" edition.
Congressional Record 1994 - current (online through GPO Access)
The Congressional Record is the official record of the proceedings and debates of the United States Congress. It is published daily when Congress is in session. GPO Access contains Congressional Record volumes from 140 (1994) to the present. At the back of each daily issue is the "Daily Digest," which summarizes the day's floor and committee activities.
THOMAS: Legislative Information (Library of Congress)
Includes the Congressional Record from 101st Congress to current, text of bills, calendars, committees, and much more.

News Sources

ProQuest Historical Newspapers (US)
1851 - 1999
Digitized full-content (including images) of U. S. newspapers dating back to 1851. VIEW TITLES Searches can be refined, including limiting to document type (editorial, obituary, image, etc.).
ProQuest National Newspapers (Current News)
mid 1980s - current
Full-text articles (no images) from the Atlanta Journal Constitution, Boston Globe, Chicago Tribune, Christian Science Monitor, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, USA Today, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post.

House & Senate websites

United States Senate
United States House of Representatives
Congress websites contain schedules, calendars, contacts for current session, hierarchical charts, and some historical and background information. Links to committee pages.