Finding Journal Articles

To search for articles on a particular topic you need to use an index to periodicals. Most of the library's indexes are electronic but for older materials you will need a print index. Each periodical index focuses on a specific subject or body of literature. Choosing the correct index is key to a successful search.

Periodical Indexes that are especially good for Philosophy:

Philosopher's Index (1940-Present) - An index to citations and abstracts of scholarly articles, books, book chapters, dissertations and book reviews on philosophy and related fields, including aesthetics, epistemology, ethics, logic, and metaphysics.

Humanities Abstracts (1980-Present ) - Abstracts for scholarly journal articles in the humanities. Covers archaeology, art, architecture, literature, history, music, philosophy and religion.

Bibliography of Asian Studies (1971-Present) - Index to scholarly articles, books and book chapters in Asian history and culture. Includes citations to all articles from the 100 most-used journals in Asian studies. See also print index (Sawyer REF DS5 .B52) covering materials published from 1941 to 1970.

Année Philologique (1969-Present) - Bibliography covering all aspects of classical studies including authors and texts, literature, history, law, philosophy, and archaeology. Covers historical time periods from prehistory to the Middle Ages. Print version also available in Sawyer Reference PA3017.9 .A6.

Expanded Academic Index (1980-Present)
Index to scholarly and popular journal articles, many in full-text, about all topics, including Philosophy.

Additional Philosophy-related indexes:

Religion Index (1949-Present) - An index for articles, books and essays covering religious topics based on religions around the world, and religious perspectives on various issues. Created by the American Theological Library Association (ATLA).

Sociological Abstracts (1952-Present) - Index to articles, conference proceedings and book reviews published in sociology journals and related fields such as anthropology, economics, education, linguistics, medicine, philosophy, political science, and social psychology.

Arts and Humanities Citation Index (1975-Present) - One of three databases included in Web of Science. It indexes scholarly journal articles in the arts and humanities.