ProQuest National Newspapers (Current News) (Coverage Varies ) - Full-text of articles from the Atlanta Journal Constitution, Boston Globe, Chicago Tribune, Christian Science Monitor, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, USA Today, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, and other highly circulated US newspapers.
Articles only - does not include graphics, photos, advertisement or classifieds. New York Times Magazine and Book Reviews are available as PDFs with graphics included.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers (US) (Coverage Varies) - Searchable full-text articles and images from:
Atlanta Constitution (1868-1939)
Chicago Defender (1921-1975)
Chicago Tribune (1849-1986)
Christian Science Monitor (1908-1993)
Hartford Courant (1764-1984)
Los Angeles Times (1881-1986)
New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993)
New York Times (1851-2004)
Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002)
Wall Street Journal (1889-1990)
Washington Post (1877-1991)
Gender Watch (1971-Present) - Database of publications focusing on gender issues. Includes references to scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books, booklets and pamphlets, conference proceedings, and government, n-g-o and special reports.
Ethnic Newswatch (1990-Present; some coverage 1960-1989) - Full-text of articles from newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic minorities and native press in the United States.
Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe - News (Coverage varies) - Provides access to full-text articles from U.S. national and regional news sources, English language newspapers and newswires from around the world.
STEP 1. Select one of the following:
- General News (coverage from major U.S. and International papers)
- U.S. News (newspapers in U.S. by state and region)
- World News (international coverage)
STEP 2. Select a news source from the drop-down menu. Choose "Major Papers" if the entry in step one was "General News".
STEP 3. In one search box, type: section(editorial or op-ed or opinion). Note: there should be no space between the word "section" and the left parens. Select the "full text" option from the drop-down menu.
In another search box, enter your keywords, e.g. same-sex and marriage. Default selection of headline and lead paragraph should produce desired results.
STEP 4. After you have entered your search query, select the desired dates.
STEP 5. Choose a specific title to search, if desired. Choose "Source List" next to the box in STEP 2 to select titles and determine dates of coverage.