Browsing through journals
The library subscribes to three key interdisciplinary journals in
the field of Latina/o resarch.
All three journals are available electronically, so you can browse and search through each issue or across multiple issues online.
Going beyond browsing: searching a periodical index
To find scholarly articles on a topic, you will need to use a
periodical index. Most of the Libraries' indexes are available as
online databases, but in some cases you will need to consult a print
index for older materials. Each periodical index focuses on a specific
subject area or body of literature. Because most indexes are produced
at a national level, they may include many magazines and journals not
available at Williams.
Multidisciplinary Indexes
Expanded Academic Index (1980-Present) - Multi-disciplinary index to scholarly academic and general interest periodicals.
Web of Science (1900-Present ) - Multi-disciplinary index to academic and general interest journals. Includes Science Citation Index Expanded (1900-present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1956-present) and Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present ).
Google Scholar (Coverage Varies) - Multi-disciplinary index to peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts, and other scholarly literature. Includes the full-text of publications freely available on the web and citations for materials published by commercial publishers. Includes links to the library's electronic journal collections and FRANCIS. Stronger coverage in the sciences. Results are ranked by Google's determination of relevance.
Subject Specific Indexes
America: History and Life (1964-Present ) - An index to scholarly articles, dissertations, and book reviews on the history and culture of North America (United States and Canada) from prehistory to the present. Covers approximately 1,800 journals.
Historical Abstracts (1955-Present) - An index to books, scholarly articles, and dissertations in world history (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Covers approximately 1,800 journals.
International Political Science Abstracts (1951-Present) - Produced by the International Political Science Association, IPSA includes current indexing and abstracts of nearly 900 of the world's leading journals in political science.
Sociological Abstracts (1952-Present) - Index to articles, conference proceedings and book reviews published in sociology journals and related fields such as anthropology, economics, education, linguistics, medicine, philosophy, political science, and social psychology.
The library has many periodical indexes. Check also the indexes available for women's studies, literature, art, music. Also check the complete list of periodical indexes.
In databases that do not include full-text, click on the
button for locate the article. Another option is to use the Citation Linker.