Latina/o Studies 405: Getting Background Information

Reference collections are a good place to gather basic information on a topic as well as leads to locate additional sources. In the Sawyer Reference collection, you will find subject encyclopedias, annotated bibliographies, handbooks, research guides, compedia of statistics. To locate materials in the Sawyer Reference collection, do an Advanced Keyword Search for your topic and limit to Location Sawyer Reference. Once you have located the relevant section, the best way to find useful resources is to browse through the collection.

Latina/o reference sources

Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United States
Online
Sawyer REF E184.S75 O97 2005

The Latino Encyclopedia
Sawyer REF E184.S75 L357 1996

Hanbook of Hispanic Cultures in the United States
Sawyer REF E 1184 .S75 H365 1993

Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture
Sawyer REF F1406 .E53 1996

Identity/Immigration

Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America
Online. 2000 edition.

American Immigrant Cultures: Builders of a Nation
Sawyer REF E184.A1 A63448 1997

Encyclopedia of American Immigration
Sawyer REF JV6465 .E53 2000

Culture

Oxford Encyclopedia of Popular Music

The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music
REF ML100 .G16 1997

Bibliographies

To find bibliographies in FRANCIS, do an Advanced Keyword Search subject: bibliography AND any field: [your broad topic].

Bibliographies are located both in the reference collection and in the circulating collection.