Latina/o Studies 338: Scholarly and Research Articles

To find scholarly articles on a topic, you will need to use a periodical index. Most of the Libraries' indexes are available as online databases, but in some cases you will need to consult a print index for older materials. Each periodical index focuses on a specific subject area or body of literature. Because most indexes are produced at a national level, they may include many magazines and journals not available at Williams. See below for more information about locating articles at Williams and borrowing from other libraries.

Multidisciplinary Indexes

Expanded Academic Index (1980-Present)
Multi-disciplinary index to scholarly academic and general interest periodicals.

Web of Science (1900-Present )
Multi-disciplinary index to academic and general interest journals. Includes Science Citation Index Expanded (1900-present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1956-present) and Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present ).

Google Scholar
A good place to search for scholarly documents not published in journals or books.

Subject Specific Indexes

America: History and Life (1964-Present )
An index to scholarly articles, dissertations, and book reviews on the history and culture of North America (United States and Canada) from prehistory to the present. Covers approximately 1,800 journals.

Anthropological Literature (Coverage Varies)
Index to the anthropology journals housed in the Tozzer library at Harvard. Covers anthropology, archeology and related disciplines such as art history, economics, psychology, religion and ethnic studies. Includes book reviews.

Art Abstracts (1984-Present)
Index to scholarly articles in art and related disciplines (anthropology, architecture, design, video art). Emphasis on Western art. For articles in pre-1984 publications see Art Index Retrospective.

Chicano Database (1960s-Present)
Index to all types of material for information about Mexican-American and Chicano topics; selective coverage back to 1900. Since 1992 covers the broader Latino experience, including Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans, and Central American immigrants.

Historical Abstracts (1955-Present)
An index to books, scholarly articles, and dissertations in world history (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Covers approximately 1,800 journals.

MLA International Bibliography (1926-Present)
Index to scholarly literature for language, literature, linguistics and related areas. Published by the Modern Language Association. MLA indexes articles, book chapters, working papers and proceedings.

Sociological Abstracts (1952-Present)
Index to articles, conference proceedings and book reviews published in sociology journals and related fields such as anthropology, economics, education, linguistics, medicine, philosophy, political science, and social psychology.

Women's Studies International (1972-Present)
Covers the core disciplines in Women’s Studies and related areas. Includes references to journals, newspapers, book chapters, reports, dissertations, and more.

See also indexes to specific areas such as literature, art, music, and more.

Locating Articles

While searching articles databases, you will want to determine whether the Williams College Libraries own the journals containing the articles you wish to read.

Many databases have this Find Text icon icon. When you click on the icon in the database, it will attempt to find an electronic version of the text in our collection. If it doesn't find an electronic version, it will give you a screen with a link to FRANCIS and Williams ILL. The FRANCIS link sends a pre-formatted search into FRANCIS to find print or other electronic subscriptions in our collection. The Williams ILL link provides an automatically filled-in interlibrary loan request form to get a copy from another library.

If the database you are using does not have the Find Text icon, you can do a journal title search in FRANCIS or use Citation Linker.