LATS 332: Latinos and Education (Spring 2010)

Search Strategies for FRANCIS (library catalog)

FRANCIS, the library catalog lists books, videos, and other materials available at Williams. It also links directly to the NExpress consortium libraries.

Sample of relevant subject headings:


Core Databases

Expanded Academic Index (1980-Present) - Multi-disciplinary index to scholarly academic and general interest periodicals.

Sociological Abstracts (1952-Present) - Index to articles, conference proceedings and book reviews published in sociology journals and related fields such as anthropology, economics, education, linguistics, medicine, philosophy, political science, and social psychology.

ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) (1966 - Present) - Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education, ERIC indexes education-related journal articles and ERIC documents, a collection of documents from a variety sources including scholarly and professional organizations, research and policy centers, government agencies, and teachers.

Chicano Database (1960s-Present) - Index to all types of material for information about Mexican-American and Chicano topics; selective coverage back to 1900. Since 1992 covers the broader Latino experience, including Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans, and Central American immigrants.

Congressional Publications (1789 - Present) - Index and full-text of Congressional prints, hearings, reports, legislative histories. Includes full text of Congressional Research Service reports from 1916 - present; full-text of Serial Set documents produced from 1789 to 1969. Index and full-text of Bound Permanent Congressional Record and its predecessors from 1789 - 1997. Full text of Daily Congressional Record 1985 - present. Search Tip: use ALL CAPS for connecting terms; e.g. AND, OR, NEAR/n, etc. See Congressional Search Syntax guide for more.

Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (1973-present) - Index to journal articles, books, etc, from all areas of linguistics, including linguistic anthropology, philology, sociolinguistics, and developmental linguistics


Complete list of databases by subject

Additional Resources

National Center for Education Statistics

U.S. Department of Education

Chronicle of Higher Education - facts and figures

Pew Hispanic Center

University of California Linguistic Minority Research Institute

United States Census Bureau