History 493: Secondary Sources

Books | Articles

Finding Books

Bibliographies

American Historical Association's Guide to Historical Literature
Sawyer Ref D20 A4453 1995
A good starting point for all geographical areas and time periods. Also includes articles.

For researching particular countries, volumes in the World Bibliographical Series are a good starting point.

To find bibliographies on a topic, do a keyword search in FRANCIS for s:[broad topic] and s:bibliography.
Example: bibliographies on slavery

Catalogs

Finding Articles

Indexes and Databases

Core resources for history are:

America: History and Life (1964-Present )
Research the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Find reviews of books written by historians. more info

Historical Abstracts (1955-Present)
Research world history (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Does not include book reviews. more info

C.R.I.S. : The Combined Retrospective Index Set to Journals in History, 1838-1974
Sawyer Ref E 171 .C55
Use this print index to find scholarly articles written before the time coverage of America: History and Life and Historical Abstracts.

Arts and Humanities Citation Index (1975-Present)
Find authors that cited a particular paper. Track research by moving backward and forward in time through a specified discipline. Search Tutorial

The library also has several database for specific geographic regions or times periods. Consult the Full List of History Indexes and Databases for more information.

E-journal Collections

JSTOR Provides the full text of core history journals from their first issue to the last 3 to 5 years.

Project MUSE Provides the full text of currently published scholarly history journals.