Encyclopedia of Organized Crime in the United States
Sawyer Reference: HV 6446 .K43 2000
Use to get background information on people and issues related to organized crime in the U.S. in the twentieth century. Most entries have a bibliography of suggested readings as a starting point for further research. General bibliography at the end lists biographies and memoirs and feature films.
The Mafia Encyclopedia
An online book from NetLibrary. Good for background information. Does not have bibliography.
Nathanson Centre for the Study of Organized Crime and Corruption
Based at Osgoode Hall Law School at York University (Canada), this centre's web site provides:
FBI: Freedom of Information Act
This website contains materials that have been frequently requested through the Freedom of Information Act. It includes materials from the Gangster Era as well as documents on many other individuals, organizations, and events. For additional FOIA Reading rooms, see the Department of Justice page.
National Criminal Justice Reference Service
" NCJRS is a federally funded resource offering justice and substance abuse information to support research, policy, and program development worldwide." This web site offers:
World Justice Information Network
"A library of international criminal justice links, news and publications". Choose the Library tab to link to documents on transnational organized crime.
United Nations Office of Drugs and Crime, Crime Programme
Contains links to information on organized crime and trafficking in human beings.