History 395 - Newspapers and Magazines

Historical Newspapers

ProQuest Historical Newspapers (US)
Searchable full-text articles and images from:

Atlanta Constitution (1868-1939)
Chicago Defender (1921-1975)
Chicago Tribune (1849-1986)
Christian Science Monitor (1908-1993)
Hartford Courant (1764-1984)
Los Angeles Times (1881-1986)
New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993)
New York Times (1851-2004)
Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002)
Wall Street Journal (1889-1990)
Washington Post (1877-1991) Search all historical newspapers at once, or choose individual titles.

Major US Newspapers on Microfilm and Current Full-text Databases

Available alphabetically in the microfilm area on the Lower Level. Print indexes available in stack 1 of the Reference Collection.

TitleDates available on microfilmPrint index coverageOnline Access
Boston Globe 1966-1983-1993 Boston Globe (Via Newsstand) (1980-Present)
Boston Globe (Via Proquest) (1980-Present)
LexisNexis Academic (1988-Present)
Chicago Tribunevarious issues 1886-1894; 1929-1972-1993 Chicago Tribune (1985-Present)
Christian Science Monitor1960-1960-1993LexisNexis Academic (1980- Present)
Christian Science Monitor (1988-Present)
Los Angeles Times1931- 1972-1993 Los Angeles Times (1985-Present)
New York Times1851- 1851-New York Times (1999-Present)
Wall Street Journal1962- 1962-1996Wall Street Journal (1982-Present)
Washington Post 1941-1971-1993LexisNexis Academic (1977-Present)
Washington Post (1987-Present)

Search Tips and Hints:

International News

FBIS INDEX (Foreign Broadcast Information Service Index) (1975-1996) and World News Connection (1994-Present)
Publications of the Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS), a U.S. Government agency which monitors and translates radio and television broadcasts, news agency transmissions, newspaper and periodical articles, online sources, non-classified technical reports, and government statements from within other countries. View list of sources included.

ProQuest International Newsstand (Coverage Varies )
Searchable fulltext (some citations) from over 170 English and non-English Language newspapers and newswire sources worldwide. Coverage for most sources begins in the late 1990s.

Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe - News
On the search screen, choose World News in the first step, and the region of the world in the second step.

Magazines

Readers' Guide Retrospective (1890-1982) and Readers' Guide Abstracts (1983-Present )

Search Tips and Hints:

Return to History 395 Page