20th Century FBI Files: Declassified Documents from the
Federal Bureau of Investigation. Volume 10: Mafia, Organized Crime, and
Gangsters
Interactive Media: HV 8079 .O73 T94 2001
Includes thousands of pages of documents on investigations related to Al Capone, Morris "Moe" Dalitz, Carmine Galante, Carlo Gambino, Vito Genovese, Sam Giancana, Charles "Lucky" Luciano, John Roselli, Bugsy Siegel, and Abner "Longie" Zwillman. Also includes the FBI's Mafia Monograph and report on the St. Valentine's Day Massacre. Many of these documents are also available on the FBI's Freedom of Information Act Website.
Documents of the President's Commission on
Organized Crime
This commission held hearings in 1984 and 1985 on various topics
related to organized crime. View
list of titles.
Monthly Catalog
1895-1994 print index located on back wall of Government Documents Section
1976-present Catalog of Government Publications
The Monthly Catalog is a comprehensive index of all titles ordered
printed through the Government Printing Office. It includes agency
publications and hearings.
Most government documents produced before 1992 are not cataloged in FRANCIS. Use the Monthly Catalog to identify the SuDoc number (the call number system used for government documents) for the item you want. Then physically look on the shelves in the government documents area and in the government documents microfiche cabinets. For congressional documents, see Where to Find Congressional Hearings, Reports, and Prints.
Public Papers of the Presidents of the United
States
(1929-present)
Sawyer J 80 .A283
Contains the public messages, speeches, and
statements of the President. Franklin D. Roosevelt's public papers and
addresses can be found at Sawyer E806 R6. For other presidential
papers, search for the president as author.
Congressional Publications (1789 - Present)
Use to find published and unpublished House and Senate committee
hearings, committee prints, Senate Executive documents and reports.
Congressional Universe also has access to the full text of bills
(1989-), public laws (1988-), and the U.S. Code.
For help locating these documents in Sawyer Library, see Where to Find Congressional Hearings, Reports, and Prints.
Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe - Codes and Regulations
Lexis-Nexis - Legal Research database provides full-text access to state and federal court cases, codes and regulations, international law, patents research, and law firm and law school information.
For in-depth assistance with government documents, make a research appointment with Rebecca Ohm (x4321), government documents librarian.