History 282: African-American History From Reconstruction to the Present

This page contains resources for doing research for the Hurricane Katrina assignment.

Magazines

Expanded Academic Index (1980-Present)
Multi-disciplinary index to scholarly academic and general interest periodicals.

Readers' Guide
Index to general interest periodicals such as Time, Newsweek, Jet, etc.
Print index, stack 2 of reference collection
(online index did not seem to be up to date as of 4/4/06)
The print index is good for browsing sub-topics related to Hurricane Katrina.

Newspapers

ProQuest National Newspapers (Current News)
Full-text of articles from the Atlanta Journal Constitution, Boston Globe, Chicago Tribune, Christian Science Monitor, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, USA Today, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, and other highly circulated US newspapers.

Articles only - does not include graphics, photos, advertisement or classifieds. New York Times Magazine and Book Reviews are available as PDFs with graphics included.

Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe - News
Provides access to full-text articles from U.S. national and regional news sources, English language newspapers and newswires from around the world.

Ethnic Newswatch (1990-Present; some coverage 1960-1989)
Full-text of articles from newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic minorities and native press in the United States.

Massachusetts Newspapers
Full-text of articles that appeared in the Berskshire Eagle (2003-Present; selected coverage 1997-2003), Boston Globe (1980-Present), The Republican (Springfield) (1988-Present). Paid advertisements are excluded.

Williams Record Archives

Government Information

Google U.S. Government Search
Google's search power limited to .gov and .mil sites. Use to search for recent state and federal government hearings, reports, and statements.

CSPAN-2 videotaped the hearings held by the Select Bipartisan Committee to Investigate the Preparation for and Response to Hurricane Katrina. View list of videos in our collection. View other videos at CSPAN's web site.

Research Assistance

For additional information or to schedule an individual research consultation, please contact Lori DuBois, library liaison for History.