History 152: Finding Scholarly Articles and Law Reviews

About Indexes and Databases

To find scholarly articles on a topic, you will need to use a periodical index. Most of the Libraries' indexes are available as online databases, but in some cases you will need to consult a print index for older materials. Each periodical index focuses on a specific subject area or body of literature. Because most indexes are produced at a national level, they may include many magazines and journals not available at Williams. See How to Locate Articles for information about getting articles at Williams and borrowing from other libraries.

Recommended Databases

America: History and Life (1964-Present )
An index to scholarly articles, dissertations, and book reviews on the history and culture of North America (United States and Canada) from prehistory to the present. Covers approximately 1,800 journals.

JSTOR
Digital archive of core scholarly journals in arts, humanities, general science and social sciences. Historical collection covering complete run of each journal from its inception to 1-5 years ago.

Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe - Legal
Database that provides full-text access to legal materials, including law review articles, Federal and State cases, Shepard'sŪ Citations, Federal & State Codes, Tax Law, Canadian court cases, Canadian legislation, European Union, Commonwealth & Foreign Nations legal materials, and patents.

How to Locate Articles

Many of our databases have this Find Text icon button, which takes you through the process of finding the article in our electronic or print collections and provides a link to interlibrary loan if it is not available.

If the database you are using does not have the Find Text icon or you are working from a print bibliography, you can do a journal title search in FRANCIS or use Citation Linker.

For more help, see: