Finding Journal Articles.

About Indexes and Databases | Indexes and Databases for History | Locating Articles

About Indexes and Databases

To find scholarly articles on a topic, you will need to use a periodical index. Most of the Libraries' indexes are available as online databases, but in some cases you will need to consult a print index for older materials. Each periodical index focuses on a specific subject area or body of literature. Because most indexes are produced at a national level, they may include many magazines and journals not available at Williams. See below for more information about locating articles at Williams and borrowing from other libraries.

Indexes and Databases for History

The two core databases for history are:

America: History and Life (1964-Present )
Research the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Find reviews of books written by historians. more info

Historical Abstracts (1955-Present)
Research world history (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Does not include book reviews. more info

For databases covering specific geographic regions and time periods, see the following:

American Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies (1990-Present)
Research Russian, Soviet, and East European history, culture and literature. Find reviews of books written by historians. more info

Année Philologique (1969-Present)
Find articles, sections from collected books on issues related to Classics and Antiquity. more info

Arts and Humanities Citation Index (1975-Present)
Find authors that cited a particular paper. Track research by moving backward and forward in time through a specified discipline. Search Tutorial more info

Bibliography of Asian Studies (1971-Present)
Research Asian history, art, culture and literature. more info

Black Studies Center (Varies)
Find articles, video, manuscripts examining the Black experience in the Americas. more info

Chicano Database (1960s-Present)
Research all aspects of the Mexican-American, Chicano and Latino experience, including art, literature, law, education, economics, politics, music, film, religion, health, psychology, sociology. more info

Handbook of Latin American Studies (1936-Present)
Search for scholarly articles and books about Latin America. more info

Humanities Abstracts (1980-Present )
Find articles on topics in the humanities, including archaeology, classical studies, folklore, history, journalism, literature, music, performing arts, philosophy and religion. Find literary and political criticism. Find book reviews. more info

Index Islamicus (1906-Present)
Find journal articles and book chapters on the Middle East and the Muslim World. Find book reviews. more info

International Index to Black Periodicals (1998-present)
Find articles on the African American experience in the United States as seen through periodicals that focus on the Black community. more info

International Medieval Bibliography (1967-Present)
Find scholarly articles about the Middle Ages (400-1500 AD) in Europe, the Middle East and North Africa. Search for the research of a particular Middle Ages scholar. more info

Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and the Renaissance (1995-Present)
Find scholarly articles about the Middle Ages and the Renaissance (400-1700 AD). Find a discography of medieval music. more info

JSTOR (Coverage Varies)
Search a full-text archive of multi-disciplinary scholarly journals. more info

Project MUSE (Coverage Varies)
Search a selection of current humanities and social sciences ejournals. more info

Locating Articles

While searching articles databases, you will want to determine whether the Williams College Libraries own the journals containing the articles you wish to read.

Many databases have this Find Text icon icon. When you click on the icon in the database, it will attempt to find an electronic version of the text in our collection. If it doesn't find an electronic version, it will give you a screen with a link to FRANCIS and Williams ILL. The FRANCIS link sends a pre-formatted search into FRANCIS to find print or other electronic subscriptions in our collection. The Williams ILL link provides an automatically filled-in interlibrary loan request form to get a copy from another library.

If the database you are using does not have the Find Text icon, you can do a journal title search in FRANCIS or use Citation Linker.