To search for articles on a particular topic you need to use an index to periodicals. Most of the library's indexes are electronic but for older materials you will need a print index. Each periodical index focuses on a specific subject or body of literature. Choosing the correct index is key to a successful search.
Alternative Press Index (1991-Present) - Database indexing articles published in about 250 alternative, radical and left publications. Created by the Alternative Press Center.
Applied Science & Technology Abstracts (1983-Present) - Abstracts for scientific periodicals, trade publications, and conference proceedings in the areas of applied, engineered, pure or interdisciplinary sciences.
Biological & Agricultural Index (1983-Present ) - Bibliographic database covering topics in agriculture and related fields.
EconLit (1969-Present) - Produced by the American Economic Association, EconLit is their electronic bibliography of economics literature throughout the world. It contains abstracts, indexing, and links to full-text articles in economics journals, books, chapters and articles in books, working papers series, and dissertations.
Environmental Universe (1975-Present) - Environmental Abstracts, journal and news sources on the environment, federal and state regulations, case law.
Expanded Academic Index (1980-Present) - Multi-disciplinary index to scholarly academic and general interest periodicals.
Index to Legal Periodicals and Books (1981-Present ) - An index to law books and articles in legal periodicals.
Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe - Legal Articles (Coverage Varies) - Database that provides full-text access to law reviews.
Philosopher's Index (1940-Present) - An index to citations and abstracts of scholarly articles, books, book chapters, dissertations and book reviews on philosophy and related fields, including aesthetics, epistemology, ethics, logic, and metaphysics.