Readers' Guide Retrospective (1890-1982)
and
Readers' Guide (1983- )
Search for the title of the movie and "motion picture reviews". Does not contain the full text of articles.
Expanded Academic ASAP (1980-)
Search for the movie title and "motion picture". Contains full text of some articles.
LexisNexis Academic (year coverage varies widely; many started in the 1980s or 1990s)
Step 1: Choose General News (can also choose Arts & Sports News, but not as comprehensive)
Step 2: Choose Major Papers
Step 3: Enter the movie title and/or director's name in the search box and choose Headline, Lead Paragraph(s), Terms
Step 4: Change date range to all available dates, or enter a year range around when the movie was released.
When you get the search results, sort by Relevance (the more your search term appears in the article the higher it will be ranked). Contains full text.
International Index to Performing Arts (coverage varies; earliest 1864, but most are from 1990s)
Includes reviews and criticism. Does not contain full text of articles.
MLA International Bibliography (1963- )
In addition to literary criticism, MLA also covers film criticism. Does not contain full text of articles.
Movie Review Query Engine
Provides reviews from a variety of Web sources for over 30,000 movie titles.
Internet Movie Database
After searching for the movie title, choose External Reviews under Awards & Reviews on the left hand side to get links to reviews available on the Web.
Metacritic.com
Brings together reviews from print and online publications For each movie they try to provide 20 or more reviews from respected critics/publications. This database began in August 1999, so it has better coverage of more recent movies than older ones. (Works better on Internet Explorer than Netscape.)