Biography Resource Center
Provides full-text biographical information on nearly 220,000 people throughout history and across many disciplines and subject areas. Brings together longer narrative biographies, shorter thumbnail sketches, entries from Who's Who, magazine articles, and Web sites. Contains
Contemporary Authors,
a standard reference source for information on authors.
Biography Index
Indexes biographical information found in magazines and books. Does not contain the full-text of articles. Search FRANCIS for magazine or book title to find materials in the library.
Tip:
In Biography Index, enter names as
last name-first name*
(e.g., Moore-Lorrie*)
American Writers (Location: Sawyer Reference, PS129 .A55 1974)
A collection of literary biographies. Each biography discusses the writer's work in relation to his/her life. The articles end with a selected bibliography of works by and about the writer.
Tip:
use the index from the most recent supplement to locate your author.
MLA International Bibliography
The premier bibliography for literary scholarship published throughout the world. Does not contain full-text of articles. Search FRANCIS for journal or book title to find materials in the library.
Tip:
In MLA, enter names as
last name-first name*
(e.g., Carver-Raymond*).
Literature Criticism Online
Provides excerpts of reviews and critical essays on works of authors who are currently living or have died since January 1, 1960.
Expanded Academic Index
A general magazine/journal article database. Reviews and some critical essays. Some full-text.
For further assistance finding biographical information or criticism, please contact Nick Baker, library liaison for English.