Economics - Finding Statistics

Ageing and Youth:

Administration on Aging - Statistics on the Aging Population (Coverage Varies) - Profile and compilation of statistics on people 65 and older in the United States. Data include breakdowns by race and ethnicity, wellness and disabilities.

UNICEF - Monitoring and statistics (Coverage Varies) - UNICEF's statistical database on children worldwide. Data include mortality, disease, education, sanitation, access to clean water, etc.

Agriculture:

USDA - National Agricultural Statistics Services (Coverage Varies) - Statistical data complied by the Statistics Services of the US Department of Agriculture. Data include livestock and crops broken down by state and region. Good resource for finding statistics on US agricultural production.

FAOSTAT (Coverage Varies) - FAOSTAT is an on-line and multilingual database currently containing over 3 million time-series records covering international statistics in the following areas: production, trade, food balance sheets, producer prices, forestry trade flow, land use and irrigation, forest and fishery products, fertilizers and pesticides, agricultural machinery, food aid shipments, and food exports.

Crime:

Bureau of Justice Statistics (Coverage Varies) - The US Department of Justice - Bureau of Justice Statistics collects vast amount of information on crime and law enforcement in the United States. You can use this site to gain "At a Glance" statistics as well as more in-depth time-series data.

Data Sets:

ICPSR (Coverage Varies) - Database is maintained by the Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR), established in 1962. Provides access to archived social science data for research and instruction.

Domestic Statistics - Basic:

Economic Statistics Briefing Room (Coverage Varies) - Economic Statistics Briefing Room provide easy access to current Federal economic indicators. Statistical categories include: employment, income, money, output, prices, production, and transportation.

Social Statistics Briefing Room (Coverage Varies) - Social Statistics Briefing Room provide easy access to current Federal social statistics. The data is limited to crime, demographic, educational, and health issue. Most of the data is summary in nature, but updated by the responsible federal agency on a regular basis.

Statistical Abstract of the United States (1878 - present) - Abstract of statistics compiled by federal agencies. Statistical Abstract of the United States is a good place to start to find U.S. statistics.

Domestic Statistics - Detailed:

Beige Book (1970-) - The Beige Book is released two weeks prior to each FOMC meeting eight times per year. Each Federal Reserve bank gathers anecdotal information on current economic conditions in its district through reports from bank and branch directors and interviews with key businessmen, economists, market experts, Statistics are embedded in the summaries.

Bureau of Labor Statistics (Coverage Varies) - Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) compiles data on the U.S. labor force. Data include employment, wages, productivity, inflation, etc. BLS also includes several "At a Glance" tables that provide overviews of labor statistics.

Federal Reserve Board - Statistics (Coverage Varies) - Data released by the Federal Reserve Board on issues such as money, banking, liquidity, minority owned banks, etc.

NBER Economic Indicators and Releases () - National Bureau of Economic Research's links to economic data releases. Links include release dates and archival data.

Domestic Statistics - Historical:

Historical Statistics of the United States: Millenium Edition (1790-2000) - Find statistics about almost any aspect of U.S. economics, population or infrastructure since the government began recording statistics. Compare statistics from colonial times to similar data in the nineteenth or twentieth centuries. Study the evolution of statistics collection in the U.S.

Statistical Abstract of the United States (1878 - present) - Abstract of statistics compiled by federal agencies. Statistical Abstract of the United States is a good place to start to find U.S. statistics.  Past editions provide historical data.


Education:

NCES - National Center for Educational Statistics (Coverage Varies) - The National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), located within the U.S. Department of Education and the Institute of Education Sciences, is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education.

General:

Statistical Universe (1973/1983 - present)

Find statistics on popular or scholarly topics.  Use "Find a Table" and then select your subjects by clicking on "Subject list".


Gender:

Women's Bureau, United States Department of Labor (current) - The Women’s Bureau’s mission is to improve the status of wage-earning women, improve their working conditions, increase their efficiency, and advance their opportunities for profitable employment.

Health:

NCHS FastStats A-Z (Coverage Varies) - Official US statistics on health issue published by the National Center for Health Statistics

International:

International Financial Statistics (1948-Present ) - International Financial Statistics Database.

SourceOECD (1998-Present ) - Full-text of the reports, monographs, serials, and statistical publication of the OECD (Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development).  Use for OCED countries and their partners.

Global Development Finance (Coverage Varies) - Global Development Finance (GDF) includes analysis and commentary on recent developments in international finance for developing countries, with particular focus on the East Asian financial crisis. Summary statistical tables are included for selected regional and analytical groups comprising 150 developing countries. Country Tables contain statistical tables on the external debt of the 138 countries that report public and publicly guaranteed debt under the Debtor Reporting System (DRS).

Human Development Reports (Coverage Varies) - Statistical data tracking the level of development in nations throughout the world. Data ranges from economic (GDP) to social (child labor). Countries are ranked according to their level of development in each of over 100 indicators.


International - Historical:

International historical statistics :Africa, Asia & Oceania, 1750-2000 includes statistics for population, labor, agriculture, industry, trade, transport, finance, education, price indexes, and national accounts for African, Asian, and Pacific countries. Ref HA4675. M552 2003

International historical statistics : the Americas, 1750-2000 includes statistics for population, labor, agriculture, industry, trade, transport, finance, education, price indexes, and national accounts for the Americas. Ref HA175. M55 2003

International historical statistics. Europe, 1750-2000 includes statistics for population, labor, agriculture, industry, trade, transport, finance, education, price indexes, and national accounts for African, Asian, and Pacific countries. Ref HA1107 .M5 2003


Labor:

Bureau of Labor Statistics (Coverage Varies) - Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) compiles data on the U.S. labor force. Data include employment, wages, productivity, inflation, etc. BLS also includes several "At a Glance" tables that provide overviews of labor statistics.

Social:

World Development Indicators (Coverage Varies) - A World Bank collection of data about countries throughout the world.

Social Statistics Briefing Room (Coverage Varies) - Social Statistics Briefing Room provide easy access to current Federal social statistics. The data is limited to crime, demographic, educational, and health issue. Most of the data is summary in nature, but updated by the responsible federal agency on a regular basis.

Stock and Money Markets:

Yahoo Finance (1962- (but varies)) - Yahoo Finance contains company profiles, SEC filings, annual reports, stock quotes (for many companies going back to 1962), and other financial information about US and Canadian companies.


Trade:

ITC - International Trade Statistics (Coverage Varies) - Import and export statistics by country and product from the World Trade Organization and the United Nations Commission on Trade and Development.