Economics 203

Getting Started

Start early. When using a source consider it carefully. Who is the author? Does he or she have authority, credentials, a political axe to grind, etc.? When using a Web Site as a resource, consider who sponsored that WebSite. Be careful to cite information accurately. Attribute ideas not your own to those of the proper owner.

Background and Chronologies and Contemporary Accounts

Looking through popular magazines can give you a better sense of a particular time period. Go to the stack and look at Time or Life

Chronology Of Womens History and Women's Chronology [Chronology of the lives of women worldwide for a particular year; snapshots in sections labeled General, Business and Industry, Science, etc.]

What American women did, 1789-1920 : a year-by-year reference [Overview of the life of women during a particular year; annual account of attitudes toward and attainment by women in the United States excellent bibliography for further research.]

In the First Person [Repository of Interviews]

ProQuest Historical Newspapers (US), ProQuest National Newspapers (Current News), and ProQuest International Newsstand [Newspapers are an excellent source of contemporary accounts and provide economic data; historical newspapers include the New York Times and Wall Street Journal, Chicago Defender, Atlanta Constitution, Connecticut Courant, Christian Science Monitor, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times.]

Readers' Guide Retrospective and Readers' Guide Abstracts [Articles from popular magazine and in Monthly Labor Review]

Black Studies Center [Journal articles, popular magazine articles, essays and other documents regarding the African American experience]

Scholarship: Books and Articles

FRANCIS [Locate books owned by Williams College Libraries; advanced search with follow-up subject searching is the best way to retrieve relevant information; use to access NEXP]

WorldCat [Locate books held in the United States]

Expanded Academic Index [First database you should use for almost any research topic]

EconLit[Articles in the economics literature; covers over 400 major journals as well as articles in collective volumes (essays, proceedings, etc.), books, book reviews, dissertations, and working papers; certain journals, e.g., Journal of Economic Perspectives can be very accessible]

America: History and Life and Historical Abstracts[America:History and Life is the basic database for finding academic articles in US and Canadian history; Historical Abstracts is for the rest of the world; limit your search to time periods for a particular decade focus.]

PAIS International [Journals and government documents worldwide focused on political issues; covers 1917 - present]

Gender Watch [Articles from journals, primary sources, archival materials, etc. worldwide; covers 1971 - present; worldwide - limit to a specific geographic region.]

Contemporary Women's Issues [Articles and reports about gender issues; about 1500 sources from 200 organizations worldwide]

Women's Studies International [Articles from journals, reports, etc.; covers 1972 - present (some earlier materials); worldwide- ability to limit to geographic region]

JSTOR [Articles in the more prestigious mostly peer-review journals in many disciplines; coverage is from journals inception to 3-5 years ago]

Social Sciences Citation Index[Comprehensive search of titles of articles in the social sciences; few abstracts - so most searching, particularly early searching is limited to titles; forward citation searching.]

Women in American History [Use to get find articles about women in American history from colonial times to the 1970's.]

Women and Gender in Central and Eastern Europe, Russia, and Eurasia [Bibliography pertinent to women in the former Soviet influenced areas of Europe and Asia]

Data

Statistical Universe [Statistics published by government, intergovernment, and business organizations; using the table search option focused on subject searching will yield greatest results.]

Historical Statistics of the United States: Millenium Edition and Statistical Abstract of the United States also in print HA and SA [Statistics complied by various US federal agencies. Compiles yearly.]

International historical statistics : Africa, Asia & Oceania, 1750-2000

International historical statistics. Europe, 1750-2000

International historical statistics : the Americas, 1750-2000

Index to International Statistics [Compilation of International Statistics from government and intergovernment organizations; from 1983-1997 documents are included in microfiche collection.

Citing Resources

Professor Schmidt has indicated that you should be using Journal of Economic Literature style. A style guide for using Journal of Economic Literature is available on the JEL styles page. Click here for journal Abbreviations used in JEL style.



Created: Fall 2003
Revised: Fall 2007
Need Assistance: Walter Komorowski (wkomorow@williams.edu) - Library liaison for Economics