Local Electronic ResourcesGlobal Development Finance Statistics (available from several bays in Sawyer Library) provides detailed statistics on external debt. Web ResourcesWorld Development Indicators provides time-series data from the World Bank. WDI allows you to export your data in Excel Spreadsheet format. It is easier to use than the electron version of the International Financial Statistics. International Financial Statistics also provides time-series data summarizing each country's balance of payments, with collateral data on its principal components (trade and reserves), and data on the principal cause and effect elements (monetary expansion and contraction, government surpluses and deficits, production, prices, and interest rates). UNESCO provides a gamut of international educational statistics. Topics include teaching staff and public expenditure for specific countries and years. Considerable time-series data are available. In particular, you might want to look at UNESCO Statistical Yearbook on-line. UNICEF contains quanitiative data on women and children worldwide and includes stats dealing with health issues, nutrition, and education. The UNICEF site is excellent for a country profile. United Nations Social Indicators Page provides basic stats on a variety of social and economic issues, including literacy, employment, etc. Each indicator appears seperately on a cross-country stat sheet. Only the most recent statistics are provided, there are no time-series data. Joint OECD and World Bank External Debt Database provides comprehensive information on statistics on external debt in terms of both stock and flows. Data can be downloaded in Excel or ASCII format. ITC provides import and export statistics for member countries. Stats typically cover the last four years of data and are divided by level 3 SIC. Statistics can be retireved by SIC or country. No output options other than printing. The United Nations Economics and Social Development Statistics Page provides links to statistics pages that deal with the economic and social development aspects of countries in the United Nations. The FAO Division offers links to pages that provide regional, country, and world agricultural statistics. Years and geographic regions can be manipulated. The UN Development Program provides statistical information from the 1998 Human Development Report about industrial and developing countries worldwide. Topics include population, national income, health and education. Statistics typically compare a base year (1970 usually) with a recent year. The World Health Organization includes health and health related statistical information from around the globe. Caution: the WHO page crashes when you attempt to access the newly designed statistics page. Print ResourcesInternational Financial Statistics [HG3881 .I54i], issued monthly, provides extensive tables summarizing each country's financial health. It is an excellent for a time series data on a single nation, but is cumbersome when contrasting multiple nations. The printed IFS is also useful for finding time-series codes used in the electronic IFS. Index to International Statistics [REF HA155 .I53], indexes the major statistical publications from Non-Governmental Organization (NGOs) and Inter-Governmental Organizations (IGO). From 1983-1997 most of the publications indexed in IIS are reproduced on accompanying fiche. African Development Indicators [REF HC800 .A1 A356], reports on African Development Statistics that may be difficult to find elsewhere. Data are cross-national and time series. |