Subject Guide - Development Economics - Electronic Resources


FRANCIS is the Williams College Library online catalog. It contains all the books that the Library receives. Use it to search for a specific author or title or to compile a bibliography on a specific topic. Hints: To find out whether Williams subscribes to a periodical, use the Journal Title option. Williams uses Library of Congress Subject Headings. To find books on a particular subject, use the Keyword search option. Then look at the subjects under which it has been cataloged.

Expanded Academic Index ASAP indexes An index of over 900 general business and finance magazines, trade journals, and local business journals, with full-text of 460 titles. This is an excellent resource to use for nearly any paper.

Lexis Nexis Universe (choose General News Topics) provides the full-text from Newsletters, Periodicals, Trade Publications, and transcripts from TV News programs and congressional hearings. For Development Economic issues choose the World News Database and then select the various regional publications available.

Econlit is the definitive guide to the Economics literature. Econlit indexes over 400 major publication and includes many collected works.

World News Connection translates news reports from across the world. This is an excellent place to find local new sources.

PAIS International contains abstracts from several thousand publications world-wide. The focus is on public affairs issues, and therefore PAIS is an excellent resource for public policy research.

World Bank - World Development Sources can be used to search for World Bank Working Papers and Reports, many are provided in full-text online.

JOLIS is the joint catalog of the World Bank and the IMF. Please note that it may not be possible to get all the publications in JOLIS.

Biological and Agricultural Index indexes 240 English Language periodicals concerned with biology and agricultural issues.