Chemistry Reference Sources

The reference collection is an excellent place to begin your research if you want to find:

  • a summary of a topic
  • background information on a topic
  • a list of recommended resources
  • factual information

When you find a reference book:

  • Scan the table of contents to see how it is organized.
  • Note its publication date to determine currency of the information.
  • Use the index to locate your topic within the book.

Scroll down for a list of some key resources in the field of Chemistry. These titles are located in the reference section at the Schow Science Library (bottom of the stairs, to the left).

ALDRICH LIBRARY OF SPECTRA
Schow Science Library

BURGER'S MEDICINAL CHEMISTRY AND DRUG DISCOVERY
Schow Ref RS403.B8 2003 [current edition]

CRC HANDBOOK OF CHEMISTRY AND PHYSICS
Schow Ref QD65.H3 [current edition]

CRC HANDBOOK OF FUNDAMENTAL SPECTROSCOPIC CORRELATION CHARTS
Schow Ref QD95.5.S72B78 2006

DICTIONARY OF CHEMISTRY
[electronic resource]

ENCYCLOPEDIA OF ANALTYICAL CHEMISTRY
Schow Ref QD71.5.E52 2000

ENCYCLOPEDIA OF SPECTROSCOPY AND SPECTROMETRY
Schow Ref QC451.E62 2000

KIRK-OTHMER ENCYCLOPEDIA OF CHEMICAL TECHNOLOGY
Schow Ref TP9.E685

INTERNATIONAL CRITICAL TABLES OF NUMERICAL DATA, PHYSICS, CHEMISTRY AND TECHNOLOGY
[electronic resource] or Schow Ref Q199 .N32

LANGE'S HANDBOOK OF CHEMISTRY
Schow Ref QD65.L36 2005

MCGRAW-HILL ENCYCLOPEDIA OF SCIENCE AND TECHNOLOGY (ACCESS SCIENCE)
[electronic resource]

SADTLER SPECTRA SERIES
Schow Science Library

THERMOCHEMICAL DATA OF ELEMENTS AND COMPOUNDS
Schow Ref QD511.8.B56 2002