For your media watch assignment, you will need to monitor the media from an African country of your choice, or from several countries, tracking the coverage of a specific, gender related topic (e.g., women's rights under Sharia law). The Williams College Libraries subscribe to several databases and online resources that can help you with this project. For additional assistance contact Christine Ménard, library liaison for Anthropology & Archaeology.
PressDisplay
Full-text, color, digitized version of newspapers and magazines from over 50 countries. Available on the day of publication. Content is available only for 45 days. Some articles include an audio version (watch for the little speaker icon as you mouse over the article).
To search by country, click on second icon to the right of the search box (top right corner). Icon may look different on different computers.
ProQuest International Newsstand
Full-text of over 170 English and non-English language newspapers and newswire sources from around the world.
To select a country of city, select "dateline" from the drop-down menu next to the search box.
Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe - News
Full-text of English language newspapers published around the world.
To search by country, select World News from the pull-down menu for News Category, then select a geographical area from the second pull-down menu. You may adjust the date range to "Today", "Previous Week" or "Previous Month".
World News Connection
Publications of the Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS), a U.S. Government agency which monitors and translates radio and television broadcasts, news agency transmissions, newspaper and periodical articles.
Use the search box for Geographical Name. You may also browse the latest headlines for Africa (left menu).
A P Multimedia Archive
Current and historical documents from the Associated Press. Includes over 1 million primary source photos, 24,000 maps, logos, and graphics, and 800,000 sound bites.
The web is also a very valuable source of information for this project. To get started, you may want to use one of the following web guides/directories.
Newspapers:
world-newspapers.com and NewsVoyager are two great starting points to locate English language international newspapers. (In NewsVoyager, choose "international newspapers" from the pull-down menu on left).
Other Media:
Use newsdirectory.com to locate other African media sources.