Finding Scholarly Articles

To find scholarly articles on a topic, you will need to use a periodical index. The library subscribes to hundreds of online databases; each one focuses on a specific subject or type of information.

To help you select the appropriate database, consult the list of library databases organized by subjects or contact a reference librarian.


Recommended Start-Up Databases for ANTH 102

Expanded Academic Index
Multi-disciplinary index to scholarly and popular press materials. Great place to start any research project.

Search Tips:


AnthroSource
Archive of scholarly journals, newsletters, and bulletins published by the American Anthropological Association. Includes the full-text of articles and/or links are provided to articles in JSTOR.

Search Tips:


Anthropological Literature
Index to the anthropology journals from Harvard's anthropology library (Tozzer Library). This database does not include any full-text; use the Find Text icon button to locate the articles.

Search Tips:


PsycInfo
Index to scholarly literature for psychology and related fields. Good resource for topics related to human evolution. This database does not include any full-text; use the Find Text icon button to locate the articles.

Search Tips:

Web of Science
Very large multidisciplinary index to scholarly journals.This database does not include any full-text; use the Find Text icon button to locate the articles.

Search Tips:


Additional Databases,

Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts
Index to journal articles in all fields of linguistics (including linguistic anthropology, philology, sociolinguistics, and developmental linguistics).

Art Abstracts
Index to scholarly articles in art and related disciplines (anthropology, architecture, design, video art). For articles in pre-1984 publications see Art Index Retrospective.

Locating Articles

Not all the databases include the full-text of articles. If the full-text is not readily available, you ill need to click on the Find Text icon icon. Doing so will first attempt to find an electronic version of the text; if not electronic version is located in our collection, you will be prompted to search FRANCIS to check on a print subscription. For journals not owned by Williams, use the WILL service to request items through Interlibrary Loan.

If the database you are using does not have the Find Text icon, you can do a journal title search in FRANCIS. If we do not have an electronic or print subscription, you can submit an interlibrary loan request through WILL.