ANSO 402: Senior Seminar (Spring 2009)

The Basics: Reference collection

Reference collections contain sources that provide background information on a topic or leads into researching that topic.  Reference collections include materials such as: subject encyclopedias, bibliographies, chronologies, data sets, etc.Our reference collection is split between print resources and online resources. 

Print reference materials:
Search FRANCIS by keywords for "sociology" and "reference sources"  or "anthropology" and "reference sources"

Online reference materials


The Basics : Online databases

Anthropological Literature (Coverage Varies) - Index to the anthropology journals housed in the Tozzer library at Harvard. Covers anthropology, archeology and related disciplines such as art history, economics, psychology, religion and ethnic studies. Includes book reviews.

AnthroSource (Coverage Varies) - Archive of scholarly journals, newsletters, and bulletins published by the American Anthropological Association, including access to 15 current AAA publications. Links are provided to articles in JSTOR.

Anthropological Index Online (1957-Present) - Index to journals housed in the Anthropology Library at the The British Museum (formerly Museum of Mankind). Journals cover all branches of anthropology and come from academic institutions and publishers around the world.

Sociological Abstracts (1952-Present) - Index to articles, conference proceedings and book reviews published in sociology journals and related fields such as anthropology, economics, education, linguistics, medicine, philosophy, political science, and social psychology.

Web of Science (1900-Present ) - Multi-disciplinary index to academic and general interest journals. Includes Science Citation Index Expanded (1900-present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1956-present) and Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present ).


Fieldwork in the Library: Using Primary Sources

Identifying Primary Sources

Books as Primary Sources

Articles as Primary Sources

Government Documents

Unpublished Primary Sources


Who are you in conversation with?  

Web of Science (1900-Present ) - Multi-disciplinary index to academic and general interest journals. Includes Science Citation Index Expanded (1900-present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1956-present) and Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present ).


Documenting your sources

For citation guidelines and review of the library's citation management software, consult the Library's Citation Guide