Research Articles



Starting Points

Sociological Abstracts (1952-Present)
Index to articles, conference proceedings and book reviews published in sociology journals and related fields such as anthropology, economics, education, linguistics, medicine, philosophy, political science, and social psychology.

Anthropological Index Online (1957-Present)
Index to journals housed in the Anthropology Library at the The British Museum (formerly Museum of Mankind). Journals cover all branches of anthropology and come from academic institutions and publishers around the world.

Anthropological Literature (Coverage Varies)
Index to the anthropology journals housed in the Tozzer library at Harvard. Covers anthropology, archeology and related disciplines such as art history, economics, psychology, religion and ethnic studies. Includes book reviews.

Social Sciences Abstracts (Web of Science) (1983-Present )
Multidisciplinary abstracts to articles in English language social sciences journals.



Additional Resources, based on your topic

History

America: History and Life (1964-Present )
An index to scholarly articles, dissertations, and book reviews on the history and culture of North America (United States and Canada) from prehistory to the present. Covers approximately 1,800 journals.

Historical Abstracts (1955-Present)
An index to books, scholarly articles, and dissertations in world history (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Covers approximately 1,800 journals.



Popular Culture

Film & Television Literature Index via EBSCO [TRIAL] Expires Mar 31, 2007)
Cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for 300+ publications with selected coverage of 300 more. Designed for use by a diverse audience including film scholars, college students, and general viewers
On trial until March 31 2007.

Linguistics

In the First Person (1500s - present)
Index to more than 3,350 collections of personal narratives (oral histories, letters, and diaries) in English from around the world. In some cases, the texts and/or audio files are linked and freely available. Most of the older materials are by subscription only.

Gender

Contemporary Women's Issues (1992-Present)
Database of materials about women's issues worldwide. Includes references to journal articles, primary sources in archival collections, pamphlets, unpublished scholarship, and small press publications.



Going Further ...

Depending on your topic, you may need to use additional databases to locate articles in the fields of religion, gender, economics, etc. To select the appropriate database, consult the list of databases by subject or consult with a librarian.

Locating Articles

While searching one of the above databases, you will want to determine whether the Williams College Libraries own the journals containing the articles you wish to read.

Many databases have this Find Text icon icon. When you click on the icon in the database, it will attempt to find an electronic version of the text in our collection. If it doesn't find an electronic version, it will give you a screen with a link to FRANCIS and WILL. The FRANCIS link sends a pre-formatted search into FRANCIS to find print or other electronic subscriptions in our collection. The WILL link provides an automatically filled-in interlibrary loan request form to get a copy from another library.

If the database you are using does not have the Find Text icon, you can do a journal title search in FRANCIS. If we do not have an electronic or print subscription, you can submit an interlibrary loan request through WILL.