Statistical Handbook on Adolescents in America contains
hundreds of charts and tables about young people. Chapters
include demography, health, educatio, quality of life, leisure,
and deviance.
Location: Sawyer Reference HQ 796 .S8237 1996
Statistical Record of Older Americans provides over 900
tables with data on a wide range of issues relevant to this
population. Some international data is also provided - check
under the name of the desire country in the index.
Location: Sawyer Reference HQ 1064 .U5 S697 1994
Statistical Record of Children contains data related to
nearly all issues of interest about children. Most of the data is
from the early 1990's. The sources of the data is given.
Location: Sawyer Reference HQ 792 .U5 S73 1994
FAO provides access to an extensive database for regional,
country, and world agricultural statistics, basic demographic
issues, and food safety issues. Years and geographic regions can
be manipulated; time series can be downloaded in CSV format.
Site:
http://apps.fao.org/default.htm
Bureau of Labor Statistics offers employment statistics, productivity and technology,
wages, consumer prices, US economy at a glance, etc. Years and
geographic regions can be manipulated; time series can be
downloaded in CSV or Tab Delimited formats.
Site:
http://stat.bls.gov
Statistical Handbook on Violence in America provides
useful data on violence, crime, and victims in the U.S. The
source of the data is provided, together with an index.
Location: Sawyer Reference HN 90 .V5 S833 1996
International Financial Statistics provides exchange
rates, national accounts, money, interest rates. Years and
geographic regions can be manipulated; time series can be
downloaded in Excel format. Efficient use of the CD-ROM requires
codes from the printed index.
Location: HG3881.I54I (Latest Year in Ref.); CD-ROM (Bay
16)
Global Development Finance offers time series data on
foreign direct investments, debt, account balances, commodity
prices, PPG, and PNG. Years and geographic regions can be
manipulated; time series can be downloaded in Excel format.
Location: CD-ROM (Bay 16)
Bureau of Labor Statistics offers employment statistics, productivity and technology,
wages, consumer prices, US economy at a glance, etc. Years and
geographic regions can be manipulated; time series can be
downloaded in CSV or Tab Delimited formats.
Site:http://stat.bls.gov
Federal Reserve
Board publishes historical and current statistics on money and
banking. Statistics include money supply, consumer credit,
production, interest rates, deposits, and foreign exchange rates.
Charts can be displayed in HTML format or in ASCII format for
downloading.
Site:
http://www.federalreserve.gov/releases/
Federal Reserve Board of
Saint Louis publishes historical and current statistics on money and
banking. This easy to use resource provides statistics include
money supply, consumer credit, production, interest rates,
deposits, and foreign exchange rates. The St Louis siste is
easier to use and contains more data than the Federal Reserve
site. However, the Fed site contains more daily data. Charts can
be displayed in HTML format or in ASCII format for downloading.
Site:
http://www.stls.frb.org/fred/
National Center for Education
Statistics includes a myriad of reports and tables on the state of
American Education. The site includes electronic access to
the Condition of Education, the
Digest of Education Statistics, and
Projections of Education Statistics to 2008.
Site:
http://nces.ed.gov/
UNESCO provides a gamut of international educational statistics.
Topics include teaching staff and public expenditure for specific
countries and years. No download options.
Site:
http://unescostat.unesco.org
America at the Polls provides a compendium of presidential
election data from 1920 to the present.
Location: Sawyer Ref JK524 .A73 1994
America Votes has been a major source for election data
state by state and county by county since 1945. It includes
statistical tables list the votes for the House and the Senate,
primary results for each state governor, the Presidential
preference primary vote by state from 1968 through 1988, and the
state-by-state votes for president from 1920 to 1988. Also
included are state maps outline counties and congressional
districts. City maps detail wards and districts in major urban
areas. For each state, a complete roll call of current governors,
US senators and members House is provided. Also included are
state-by-state and county-by-county 1990 population data and
tables of the statewide vote for President, governor and US
senators from 1945 to 1990.
Loction: Sawyer Ref JK1967 .A6
Center for
Responsive Politics offers coverage of congressional and presidential campaign
fundraising issues. Click on ELECTION 2000: PRESIDENTIAL RACE,
and you can compare all of the presidential candidates by amount
and source of contributions as well as the interest groups and
industries that support them. Details are also given about where
(geographically) the candidates' money comes from. In addition,
information is given on individual donors ($200 or more) for
elections from 1994 on.
Site:
http://www.opensecrets.org/home/index.asp
Congressional Districts in the 1990s gives, by each
congressional district in the U.S., a clear profile of the
residents by age, education, income, race, occupation, ethnicity
and political affiliation. It tells what newspapers, TV, radio
and other media are available in the district. The volume also
gives information on other important features of the district,
including largest employers, educational institutions, etc.
Location: Sawyer Ref JK1341 .C64 1993
Congressional Quarterly's Guide to U.S. elections provides
tables of historical election data on presidential primary
returns, 1912-1992, gubernatorial, Senate and House popular vote
returns, 1787-1993, electoral votes maps for 1789-1992, and much
other data on conventions, political parties, House and Senate
leaders, etc.
Location: Sawyer Ref JK1967 .C662 1994
The Election Data Book gives data on elections for
president, governor, and US Congress at county and congressional
district levels. It includes geographic, racial and ethnic
composition of the electorate, as well as party affiliation and
voter turnout. State tables show the relative weight of each
county and congressional district in the demographic and
electoral totals.
Location: Sawyer Ref JK524 .E43
Project Vote Smart gives information on over 13,000 candidates and elected
officials, including President, Congress, governors, and state
legislators. Biographies, campaign finances, issue positions,
performance evaluations, voting records are given for the
President , Congress, governors and state legislators.
Site:
http://www.vote-smart.org
Hispanic Americans: A Statistical Handbook includes
demographic, social, educational, political, and economic
statistics, as well as data on crime and health.
Location: Sawyer Ref E184 .S75 H5773 1995
Hispanic Databook of U.S. Cities and Counties offers data
on cities and counties (further broken down by zip code) has been
taken from the 1990 federal census. Includes demographics,
income, percent of high school graduates, and language spoken.
Location: Sawyer Ref E184 .S75 H567 1994
Historical Statistics of Black America provides statistics
from 19th and 20th century record including not only standard
information one might expect relating to population, agriculture,
education, labor, crime and law enforcement, family, religion,
vital statistics, housing, but also data more directly relevant
to the African-American experience, such as tables on lynching
and slavery.
Location: Sawyer Ref E185 .H543 1995
Historical Statistics of the United States, Colonial Times to
1970 compiles statistics on population, social conditions,
and economic development, taken largely from the annual
Statistical Abstract of the United States.
Location: Sawyer Ref HA202 .B87 1975
Statistical Handbook on U.S. Hispanics provides statistics
on demographics (including immigration), households, families,
and living arrangements, social issues, education, health,
politics, and labor and income, are graphs and charts
illustrating the data.
Location: Sawyer Ref E 184 .S75 S27 1991
Statistical Record of Asian Americans provides statistics
on population, health, military service, education, religion,
industry, public life, and attitudes on such subjects as
integration, politics, the media, and charitable giving.
Location: Sawyer Ref E184 .O6 S73 1993
Europa Year Book provides profiles for all the world's
countries. Included are statistical summaries of education,
national accounts, economic indicators, etc.
Sawyer JN1 .E85 (Latest in Ref).
Index to International Statistics provides comprehensive
indexing to the wide-range of statistical publications produced
by international Non-Government Organizations (NGOs) and
Inter-Government Organization (IGOs) federal government. Coverage
includes population, economic, education, health, technology,
etc. Several of the publications indexed are held in the Williams
collection or are available via the Web.
Location: Sawyer Ref HA155 .I53
World Development Indicators provides a side array of
social and basic economic data, including birth and death rates,
exports, technology, investments, etc. Countries may be grouped
on the basis of specific economic and/or social criteria and then
examined for other statistics. Years and geographic regions can
be manipulated; time series can be downloaded in Excel format.
Location: CD-ROM (Bay 19)
American Statistics Index provides comprehensive indexing
to the wide-range of statistical publications produced by the US
federal government. Coverage includes population, economic,
education, health, technology, etc. Several of the publications
indexed are held in the Williams Government Documents collection
or are available via the Web.
Location: Sawyer Government Documents Index Tables
County And City Data Book provides a handy data source for
social, political, and economic statistics for U.S. counties and
cities, particularly those over 25,000. Published every five
years.
Location: Sawyer Reference HA 202 .U5c (Latest in
Reference)
FEDSTATS provides access to statistical sites for more than 70
federal agencies. Excellent jumping off point for federal and
state data.
Site:
http://www.fedstats.gov/
International Historical Statistics: Africa, Asia &
Oceania, 1750-1993 includes statistics for population, labor,
agriculture, industry, trade, transport, finance, education,
price indexes, and national accounts for African, Asian, and
Pacific countries.
Location: Ref HA4675 .M55 1995
International Historical Statistics: The Americas
1750-1993 provides statistics for population, labor,
agriculture, industry, trade, transport, finance, education,
price indexes, and national accounts.
Location: Sawyer Ref HA175 .M55 1993
International Historical Statistics Europe 1750 1993
includes statistics for population, labor, agriculture, industry,
trade, transport, finance, education, price indexes, and national
accounts.
Location: Sawyer Ref HA 1107 .M5 1998
Historical Statistics of the United States, Colonial Times to
1970. compiles statistics on population, social conditions,
and economic development, taken largely from the annual
Statistical Abstracts of the United State.
Location: Sawyer Ref HA202 .B87 1975
Hispanic Americans: A Statistical Handbook includes
demographic, social, educational, political, and economic
statistics, as well as data on crime and health.
Location: Sawyer Ref E184 S75 .H5773 1995
Historical Abstracts of the States of the United States: Two
Centuries of the Census, 1790-1990 provides statistics on
population, agriculture, and manufacturing statistics for all
states and for cities with populations of 100,000 or more.
Location: Sawyer Ref HA214 .D63 1993
Historical Statistics of Black America provides statistics
from 19th and 20th century record including not only standard
information one might expect relating to population, agriculture,
education, labor, crime and law enforcement, family, religion,
vital statistics, housing, but also data more directly relevant
to the African-American experience, such as tables on lynching
and slavery.
Location: Sawyer Ref E185 .H543 1995
Hispanic Databook of U.S. Cities and Counties offers data
on cities and counties (further broken down by zip code) has been
taken from the 1990 federal census. Includes demographics,
income, percent of high school graduates, and language spoken
Location: Sawyer Ref E184 .S75 H567 1994
International Historical Statistics: The Americas
1750-1993 provides statistics for population, labor,
agriculture, industry, trade, transport, finance, education,
price indexes, and national accounts.
Location: Sawyer Ref HA175 .M55 1993
Statistical Handbook on U.S. Hispanics provides statistics
on demographics (including immigration), households, families,
and living arrangements, social issues, education, health,
politics, and labor and income, are graphs and charts
illustrating the data.
Location: Sawyer Ref E 184 .S75 S27 1991
Statistical Record of Asian Americans provides statistics
on population, health, military service, education, religion,
industry, public life, and attitudes on such subjects as
integration, politics, the media, and charitable giving.
Location: Sawyer Ref E184 .O6 S73 1993
County And City Data Book provides a handy data source for
social, political, and economic statistics for U.S. counties and
cities, particularly those over 25,000. Published every five
years.
Location: Sawyer HA 202 .U5c (Latest in Reference)
County And City Extra. Annual compilation of data similar
to County and City Data Book except for improved timeliness.
Includes data by county, city, and congressional district.
Location: Sawyer HA203 .C68 (1998 and 1999 in Reference)
Demographic Yearbook. Annuaire Démographique is a
United Nations annual publication with detailed data at the
country level from 1948 to the present. Population, birth and
death rates, life expectancy, marriage, and divorce data is
provided.
Location: Sawyer HA17 .D4 (latest in Reference)
National Center For Health
Statistics http://www.cdc.gov/nchswww/ includes recent reports and
standards reports that can be printed PDF. Clicking the
FASTSTAT
button provides quick statistics on a vast array of
health-related topics. More current than the Vital Statistics of
the U.S., below.
Site:
http://www.cdc.gov/nchswww/
1990 Census allows you to search the census data-set for population and
housing characteristics. Data can be downloaded in tab delimited
forat for importation into Excel.
Site:
http://venus.census.gov/cdrom/lookup
US Census Bureau is good source of recent data on population (including
projections, housing, and living conditions. Also provides links
to many Fedstats sites (see above). The Census Bureau site
receives heavy traffic and can be slow.
Site:
http://www.census.gov
Vital Statistics Of The United States provides an annual
compilation of health and medical statistics. Volume 1: Natality;
Volume 2: Mortality. Since this compilation appears several years
late, see also the Center for Disease Control's Morbidity And
Mortality Weekly Report.
Location: Government Documents HE 20.6210: year (Vital
Stats)Location: Government Documents HE 20.7009: (Morbidity
Weekly)
World Development Indicators provides a side array of
social and basic economic data, including birth and death rates,
exports, technology, investments, etc. Countries may be grouped
on the basis of specific economic and/or social criteria and then
examined for other statistics. Years and geographic regions can
be manipulated; time series can be downloaded in Excel format.
Location: CD-ROM (Bay 19)
Bureau of Transportation
Statistics offers extensive air, freight, and highway statistics,
including safety and use studies. Datasets are available for
download in a variety of formats including Excel and text. Many
datasets are compressed and need to be un-zipped.
Site:
http://www.bts.gov/
Direction of Trade. Produced by the International Monetary
Fund, the Direction of Trade Yearbook provides data on imports
and exports by partnered countries. The data is overall imports
and overall exports by partner by year. It does not provide
commodity level data. So, you would use it to find out the total
imports from Israel to Turkey, but not what those imports
comprised.
Location: Sawyer HF91 .I65
Statistical Record of Women Worldwide provides a myriad of
data about women including social, economic, legal, education,
and health statistics.
Location: Sawyer Reference HQ 1150 .S73 1995 (2nd Edition)
Statistical Handbook of Women in America includes dozens
of tables about demography, employment and economic status,
health, and social characteristics of women in the U.S.
Location: Sawyer Reference HQ 1420 .T34 1996
Women's Bureau is a Department of Labor web site about working women. A
variety of information is listed including a link to a section of
Statistics & Data. Particularly useful for data on the equal
pay issue.
Site:
http://www.dol.gov/dol/wb/
World's Women: 1995: Trends and Statistics is a United
Nations monograph that includes text and 15 tables on women
throughout the world.
World's
Women: 1995: Trends and Statistics, published by the United Nationsincludes text and 15 tables
on women throughout the world. Available in paper, with selected
tables available online.
Cite:
http://www.un.org/Depts/unsd/ww2000/tables.htm Location: Sawyer Reference HQ1154 .W95 2000