CHEM 155: Current Topics in Chemistry (Fall 2009)

Professor: Chris Goh

Librarian:  Jodi Psoter Jodi Psoter
Jodi Psoter

In this course, you will be finding information and data to complete your problem sets.  Below are some pointers with links to the resources discussed during your library orientation.

USING SCHOW

The majority of materials related to course topics will be shelved in the "QD"- CHEMISTRY or the "QC"- PHYSICS sections of the Schow Science Library. Materials will be found with the books, the reference collection, and the journal collection. Browse the stacks to see what is available or search FRANCIS, the online library catalog, to find a specific item.

Current print journals are located on the display racks to your left as you enter Schow. These are the most recently received issues. The most current issue is displayed and previous weeks'/months' issues are stored on the shelf found behind the current issue.

Bound journals are older journal issues consolidated into a single volume. These are shelved in the West Atrium at the bottom of the ramp (for volumes back to 1996) and in the compact journal storage room (for journals pre-1996). Bound journals are not easy to browse, but you might need to consult them for articles referenced in your text.

Electronic journals are available via computer. These could be journals that are also available in print or journals that are only available electronically. An added bonus of ejournals is that you can save or print a copy of the journal article. A complete list of ejournals is available on the Library webpage under "Finding Articles."

Books are along the south wall of the library. Schow only houses call numbers BF, Q, R, S, & T.  Check the "STATUS" in the FRANCIS record to see if your item is available for check-out and from which library.  

If we do not own an item or it is checked out, you can request a copy through WILL, our InterLibrary Loan service, for free.  Don't buy it yourself!

KEY RESOURCES

  1. FRANCISuse to search books and journals; use a database to search for articles in the journals.
    • Title search: omit initial articles "The," "A," and "An" at the beginning of a title
    • Journal search: the LIB HAS field tell what years the libraries own 
    • Author search: put the last name first
    • Keyword search: use AND to combine two or more words
    • Subject search:  Chemistry - Tables or Chemistry Physical
  2. CRC HANDBOOK OF CHEMISTRY AND PHYSICS
  3. NIST SCIENTIFIC AND TECHNICAL DATABASE
  4. KIRK-OTHMER ENCYCLOPEDIA OF CHEMICAL TECHNOLOGY
  5. JANAF THERMOCHEMICAL TABLES

TIPS FOR FINDING DATA

  1. Reference materials include dictionaries, directories, encyclopedias, handbooks, and manuals.  Determining the type of information you need will help you determine the best source.  For example, a thermodynamic property such as specific heat might require finding a table but to learn  about the topic you would use an encyclopedia.
  2. The index in a reference book can determine how best to use it.  If you are using CRC to find the boiling point of benzene, benzene is not be listed alphabetically but multiple tables under the heading "boiling point" exist.
  3. Chemicals are identified in multiple ways. Benzene is also:
    • phenyl hydride (alternative name)
    • C6H6 (molecular formula)
    • 71-43-2 (registry number)   
  4. One compound could have different registry numbers for different forms. For example: alpha-galactosidase (9025-35-8) and beta-galactosidase (9031-11-2).
  5. If you cannot find information using the compound name, don't assume the information is not available. Search the "Locate by Substance Identifier" portion of SciFinder for other ways of identifying your compounds.

EVALUATING WEB RESOURCES

CITING YOUR SOURCES

For additional information or to schedule a research appointment, contact Jodi Psoter, library liaison for Chemistry.