CHEM 153: Concepts of Chemistry (Fall 2009)

Professor:  Jay Thoman

Librarian:  Jodi Psoter Jodi Psoter
Jodi Psoter

In this course, you will be finding information and data to complete your lab reports. Below are some pointers, search strategies, and suggested resources.

BACKGROUND INFORMATION

For an introduction to a topic, browse encyclopedia sets and reference books located in the Schow Reference area (bottom of the steps, to the left). These provide general overviews, subdivided into more detailed information. A bibliography, which will provide additional resources, can usually be found at the end of each entry.

  • Comprehensive coordination chemistry II [Schow Ref QD474 .C65 2004]
  • Dean's analytical chemistry handbook [Show Ref QD78 .P37 2004]
  • Encyclopedia of inorganic chemistry [Schow Ref QD148 .E53 2005]
  • Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology [Schow Ref TP9.E685]

FINDING BOOKS

Use FRANCIS, the online catalog for Williams College Library materials, to look for books on your topic.

Search KEYWORDS such as:

  • Coordination chemistry
  • Metal complex*
  • Coordination complex*
  • Inorganic chemistry
  • Metal chemistry
  • Coordination compounds

FINDING ARTICLES

Begin searching for journal articles in Expanded Academic Index, General Science Abstracts, or Scifinder Scholar. These databases allow you to search for articles but vary in terms of the type of information that you are searching.

Search KEYWORDS such as:

  • Cobalt complexes
  • Werner complexes
  • Cobalt and coordination
  • Cobalt ammine
  • Cobalt compounds
  • Werner compounds

Narrow your search results using words such as:

  • Undergraduate
  • experiment
  • research
  • synthesis
  • laboratory

SEARCH BY CHEMICAL NAME

  1. Access SciFinder Scholar (Start, Program Files) through the public login computers in Schow
  2. Click Accept
  3. Click Locate
  4. Click Locate Substances
  5. Enter chemical name in the search box and click OK

Searching by chemical name ties all the information, in the database that is related to the chemical, together.

For example, searching by name for benzene shows the structure as well as:

  • phenyl hydride (alternative name)
  • C6H6 (molecular formula)
  • 71-43-2 (registry number)
  • ~130549 References (associated citations)

Click the GET REFERENCES box, at the bottom of the page, to start your search with all references in SciFinder Scholar that are associated with your compound. From there, you can REFINE by topic, document type, language, etc.

HINT:  Different scientists will often refer to the same chemical compound using different names.  Your compounds are easiest searched when using the following chemical names:

 - hexammine cobalt chloride

 - chloropentaamminecobalt chloride

USING SCHOW

The majority of materials related to course topics will be shelved in the "QD"- CHEMISTRY section of the Schow Science Library. Materials will be found with the books, the reference collection, and the journal collection. Browse the stacks to see what is available or search FRANCIS, the online library catalog, to find a specific item.

Current print journals are located on the display racks to your left as you enter Schow. These are the most recently received issues. The most current issue is displayed and previous weeks'/months' issues are stored on the shelf found behind the current issue.

Bound journals are older journal issues consolidated into a single volume. These are shelved in the West Atrium at the bottom of the ramp (for volumes back to 1996) and in the compact journal storage room (for journals pre-1996). Bound journals are not easy to browse, but you might need to consult them for articles referenced in your text.

Electronic journals are available via computer. These could be journals that are also available in print or journals that are only available electronically. An added bonus of ejournals is that you can save or print a copy of the journal article. A complete list of ejournals is available on the Library webpage under "Finding Articles."

Books are along the south wall of the library. Schow only houses call numbers BF, Q, R, S, & T.  Check the "STATUS" in the FRANCIS record to see if your item is available for check-out and from which library. 

If we do not own an item or it is checked out, you can request a copy through WILL, our InterLibrary Loan service, for free.  Don't buy it yourself!

EVALUATING WEB RESOURCES

CITING YOUR SOURCES

For additional information or to schedule a research appointment, contact Jodi Psoter, library liaison for Chemistry.